Keeping K'd Kontakt working on Mac into the future...

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by lecomputer, Dec 22, 2018.

  1. lecomputer

    lecomputer Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi

    If someone was to install k'd Kontakt on Mac by getting Kontakt 6.0.3 and adding libraries via the Standalone 5.60 version, are there any precautions they should take to stop things going wrong in the future? Such as stopping Kontakt or anything else connecting to the internet? Would stopping Kontakt connecting to the internet cause any issues?

    I keep reading about people having various issues and I wonder if there is anything that should be done. Sorry for the noob questions, any advice appreciated

    Also is it normal that when I open Kontakt Player that I had installed before that it says about libraries 'This will run in Demo mode'?

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2018
  2.  
  3. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Ocean
    What would the benefit be by allowing Kontakt to connect to the internet? NONE. Therefore, you can and should block it. It is not a good idea to allow non legit programs to access the internet, including DAW's. Use Little Snitch. Go to your inbox. Read my message.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2018
  4. lecomputer

    lecomputer Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks I read your message. I was just trying to get my head around all this and future proof myself a bit. Is it normal that Kontakt player says all my libraries are in demo mode?
     
  5. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Ocean
    Is it happening in both, standalone and plug-in? Check both versions. Make sure they are the same.
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2018
  6. belalugosi

    belalugosi Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    37
    Many libraries are build for Kontakt full version only so, the answer is yes. It is normal that they run in demo mode with Player version.
     
  7. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Ocean
    You are correct. (previous answer edited upon timely observation by @jazzzz :like:
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2018
  8. jazzzz

    jazzzz Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    60
    No, he said this:
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  9. The Pirate

    The Pirate Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Ocean
    @jazzzz Thanks for pointing it out.:bow:
     
  10. lecomputer

    lecomputer Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks everyone, so it is normal. I'm guessing there's no problem having legit Kontakt Player installed alongside K'd Kontakt? I dont know what I'd need it for really, so I could just delete it!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Keeping Kontakt working Forum Date
How to achieve an non 'essy' vocal while keeping high-end? Mixing and Mastering May 20, 2019
HumanTimeKeeping humor Dec 31, 2014
Can I install just nectar while keeping my current iZotope stuff? PC Oct 21, 2013
Registered Kontakt 6 and Downloaded Libraries Kontakt Today at 12:25 PM
What is the best kontakt piano library? Working with Sound Today at 8:23 AM
Loading...