Just got M1 mac with big sur. How do I run an exe?

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by Morphy, Dec 13, 2020.

  1. dtmd

    dtmd Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    158
    Location:
    UrAnus
    If any speck of reason is still existent, yes? "Ferrari" wo oil, gas, service... except bragging rights, is kinda useless? :suicide:
     
  2. Ariel Gonzalez

    Ariel Gonzalez Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2020
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Somewhere Out There
    if you can get crossover, you will be alright... if it's not the case, there's not much to do and some cracked software stopped working on catalina....
     
  3. vanhaze

    vanhaze Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    248
  4. Dan Fuerth

    Dan Fuerth Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    20
    Best thing to do is install WIndows 7 64 bit in Virtual Box for OSX. Lot's of WIndows 7 lite editons but STAY AWAY FROM THOSE as you may have to install addons like the C++ Visual packs.
    Some plugins require those to be installed ( well as most software anyways).

    That is what I would do. Keep it simple and Virtual Box makes things easy as you can run the keygens an see the numbers without rebooting.
     
  5. Willum

    Willum Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    371
    Useless bit of advice, virtualbox is virtualiztion software, not emulation.

    Virtualbox does not exist for m1 mac machines.
     
  6. Dan Fuerth

    Dan Fuerth Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2017
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    20
    Sadly for M1 users( checked on the Virtual box site)
    "ARM does not have VT-x/AMD-v"

    So Virtual Box is dead on the Mac m1 ( as Oracle is holding the code now)

    Parallels = Half baked version
    Oracle = Won't even go there
    Vmware = Announced that it was working on an Apple Silicon-compatible version of its virtualization software. No other details were revealed, however.

    So for now might as well grap a cheap intel 150$ pc used and forget about it lol.
     
  7. reliefsan

    reliefsan Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    861
    "Big Sur" in danish, almost translate to: Big angry
     
  8. samp

    samp Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    you don't need windows on m1
    crossover work exe i tried on m1
     
  9. 5teezo

    5teezo Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,734
    Likes Received:
    927
  10. Moogerfooger

    Moogerfooger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    542
    Big Sir is a big dick.
     
  11. ensoniq

    ensoniq Noisemaker

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes there is.
    You can’t use cracked libraires kn legit Kontakt. And legit libraries in cracked Kontakt.
     
  12. Obineg

    Obineg Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2020
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    127
    each of the solutions to run windows on a mac seems far more complicated than getting a windows laptop for 15 dollars and use that.
     
  13. statik

    statik Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    519
    Location:
    under your bed
    so basically you're saying that it's easier to buy a windows laptop (that you wont find for 15 dollars) then to install crossover which has been confirmend to be working by several members in this thread. yeah nah makes total sense

    suprised me that someone hasnt suggested playonmac yet, also confirmed to be working on big sur, and best of all it's legal and it's free

    https://www.playonmac.com/en/topic-16558-6.html
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2021
  14. Obineg

    Obineg Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2020
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    127
    yes, sure.

    when you for a moment take into account that the OP is a former windows user and that there normally is a windows PC in every household (son! i need your PC for my keygens! push over or else!) he might even already have one.

    the requirement to run a keygen app is not neccessarily an 28-core, any PC from the bulky waste will do. i got most of my PC laptops for free and this seems more logical than installing new apps on the audio mac which you first have to know about, then download, then install...
     
  15. statik

    statik Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    519
    Location:
    under your bed
    the install is literally a drag and drop action, mac and windows aren't that much different from eachother and the software that's being suggested speaks for itself

    double click (or right click if you have a few winport apps and want to select a dif one than the one that is made default) on the keygen.exe and it will automatically open with playonmac or crossover or whatever you wanna use
     
  16. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4,635
    Likes Received:
    1,713
    Nope. I repeat: There are no such things as cracked libraries. Only cracked Kontakt.
    All shared libraries play in cracked Kontakt.

    Kontakt is software; it has to be cracked.
    Libraries are just samples.
    Maybe you are referring to the old serial shares such that legit Kontakt could play shared libraries?
    As far as I know that died out a long time ago.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2021
  17. Moonlight

    Moonlight Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2,138
    Likes Received:
    654
    Location:
    Earth
  18. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4,972
    Likes Received:
    2,721
    Location:
    Europe
    You sir are a true poet. Hats off :shalom:
    :lmao:
     
  19. supermanXDX

    supermanXDX Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crossover 20 doesn't work on Catalina. ... :(
     
  20. iswingwood

    iswingwood Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Berlin
    No exe on M1, and in two years, no more exe on mac. Keep an old windows machines in the closet.
     
Loading...