Is this a good PC?

Discussion in 'PC' started by audnord, Aug 7, 2019.

  1. audnord

    audnord Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    20
    That looks really nice! Why would you take intel over ryzen? Many here says ryzen is better and it would be retarded to not take it :o
     
  2. AMERICUH

    AMERICUH Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    31
    Of course it is nonsense to buy Hardware which is nearly one year old .. SingleCore Performance on new Ryzens is as good as Intels .. so the CPU decision should be a no-brainer ..
     
  3. r4e

    r4e Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    611
    If you're interested, here's my basic Hardware List:

    Mainboard: ASRock Z390 Phantom Gaming-ITX/ac
    CPU: Intel Core i7-9700K
    CPU cooler: Noctua NH-D9L (or some aio water cooling solution)
    Thermal Compound: Noctua NT-H2 or Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte RTX 2080 (or a 1080 Ti)
    RAM: Corsair DIMM 32 GB DDR4-2666 (2x16GB for dual channel)
    Power: be quiet! Straight Power 11 650w
    SSD: Samsung 970 PRO 512 GB m.2
    Audio: Zoom UAC-2 Interface
     
  4. audnord

    audnord Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    20
    But i Will take ryzen 3700 and wouldnt i7-9700 be better?
     
  5. audnord

    audnord Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    20
    Thanks! Wouldnt DDR4-3200 be better?
     
  6. r4e

    r4e Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    611
    Everyone says this is better, that is better. I'm going for Intel because of compatibility.
    Also using that PC as hackintosh and that works best with Intel hardware.

    And in my opinion the 9700 is at the same level as the ryzen 3700.
    Maybe the ryzen is better for gaming, who knows. I'm not very much into gaming, just a little.
    Only use a better graphics card for hardware accelerated rendering using Octane in Cinema 4D.
     
  7. r4e

    r4e Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    611
    Yes but the board only supports up to 2666 Mhz. Only can go further with overclocking (up to 4500Mhz) but I only
    start overclocking when I have some money left over (if something wents wrong and I need replacement quickly)

    ...had such a case before and burned my first RAM modules pretty fast
     
  8. audnord

    audnord Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    20
    So it can never go up to 3200 if not overclocling? Sorry am not the best at computers.
     
  9. KidPix

    KidPix Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2017
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    93
    Yes, for hackintosh you have to get the most compatible hardware.

    The DawBench knows what is best for audio
    http://www.scanproaudio.info/2019/0...00x-dawbench-tested-3-is-it-the-magic-number/


    =========================================================


    For Intel CPU 2666MHz RAM is ok, but I would get with CAS 14.
    For AMD I would not get less than 3200, but I am not sure yet, have to wait for
    the NEW results from http://www.scanproaudio.info/category/test-labs/
    The new results will be posted in a few days...


    The Ryzen 3700x faster for audio workloads as you can see in
    http://www.scanproaudio.info/2019/0...00x-dawbench-tested-3-is-it-the-magic-number/
    But nowadays the Intel platform has mature BIOS/driver that AMD does not have, if you are not a "computer nerd guy"
    Intel is an easier path, but AMD CPUs are faster for audio and a LOT less vulnerable than Intel CPUs.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Transient_execution_CPU_vulnerabilities


    Go for the 7200rpm Barracuda HD.
    I prefer the Corsair PSU from 2018 over the 2019 model, buy the cheaper you find.
    https://se.pcpartpicker.com/product...-fully-modular-atx-power-supply-cp-9020179-na
    The Noctua NH-D15 will be cheaper and 100% good for the Ryzen 3700/3700x/3800x and Intel 9700K.

    The Noctua NH-D15 version for Intel
    https://se.pcpartpicker.com/product/4vzv6h/noctua-cpu-cooler-nhd15

    The Noctua NH-D15 version for AMD
    https://se.pcpartpicker.com/product/shNypg/noctua-nh-d15-se-am4-1402-cfm-cpu-cooler-nh-d15-se-am4
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2019
  10. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,414
    Likes Received:
    1,907
    Location:
    Europe
    Well, it can't be helped you've several valid opinions from several members, because there're several good combinations.
    I wouldn't care for Hackintosh friendliness, from what you tell. Also, don't be in a hurry to overclock your CPU, I'm talking about the cooling system here.

    Regarding storage, with a good SSD and a 7200RPM HDD you're good to go.
    It's always tempting to have a second SSD, but stick to your budget. Coming from what you had this new one it will f*ing fly lol.

    You'll ran out of disk space, but this isn't like with the RAM, that you need to open the case and it's very advisable if not mandatory to have exactly the same. You've several options to buy later external storage, be it USB, whatever.
     
  11. audnord

    audnord Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    20
    Thanks man, would you take Intel or ryzen for fl studio ans much plugins ec
     
  12. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,414
    Likes Received:
    1,907
    Location:
    Europe
    That much I don't know, I'm outdated with the current CPUs. I know that right now seems to be a nice competence between Intel and AMD in the medium-high end CPU market. Trust one of the fellas here that know better than I in this question.

    I don't think the DAW you're using is going to make an important difference.
     
  13. AMERICUH

    AMERICUH Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    31
    You ask the same questions over and over again .. but why?
    It seems that none of our answers is good enough for you ..

    The community provided you know with a ton of links (DAWBench etc.)

    There won't be those big differences between the Systems which were posted here ..
     
  14. SceleJohn

    SceleJohn Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    83
    Looks pretty nice for a 10 year old system.
     
  15. vaiman

    vaiman Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    239
    You seem to be hung up about cpu vs cpu, but are willing to use on board audio for your DAW.
    It's crazy talk :)
     
  16. r4e

    r4e Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    611
    Nah, everything can. Only with the Motherboard I want to use, it can't without overclocking.

    Quickly was reading, the Board you want to use (from your 1st post) also just supports RAM up to 2666Mhz and everything
    above only with overclocking. You also should be aware that this board is an intel only board so If you want to use a ryzen,
    you need another board with amd chipset.

    The list above is for my new system if you mean that.

    My current one with the i7 920 has just 8gb of DDR2 RAM, USB 2.0, 3 SSD's, a pretty old but cheap gtx 750
    (had to replace my loved old gtx 285 after green lines on the display and a complete pc hang after 5mins...
    overclocked the gpu too much I think). Motherboard is an ASUS Rampage Extreme 2 and the cpu cooler an
    EKL Alpenföhn Brocken (that thing is a beast - almost as big as my ATX case is wide. If it just would have had
    5mm more in hight, I never would have been able to close the case, haha). Even if I render some stuff in C4D,
    the cpu stays below 55°C... but it takes ages with that old CPU. And my setup has the M-Audio Delta 1010LT sound card,
    which I really loved to use and it still works like a charm, even if there are no official drivers for Win 10.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2019
  17. audnord

    audnord Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2019
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    20
    Ye i noticed, gonna go and get a ryzen 3800x and a good mobo for it, everyone here talk about soundcard how much impact it is but hard to know when i have never used one, no Idea how to setup one lol. I wont use a mic or real instruments to record so is it really any reasons for me?
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2019
  18. vaiman

    vaiman Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    503
    Likes Received:
    239
    What are you going to connect those Eris 4.5 speakers to? A sound card.
    Like this for example
    https://www.thomann.de/gb/presonus_audiobox_usb_96.htm
    I just chose Presonus as your speakers are the same.

    Connect via usb. Load drivers. Done
    Open FL and choose Presonus as the output.

    Buy those 2 first and you'll probably find your intel-i5 6400 will be a different machine. Nothing like your spec machine, but enough to get you started as it seems you are new to recording? Slamming down $$$ on a machine when you are learning isn't a great idea as it'll be out of spec by the time you need the power.
     
  19. r4e

    r4e Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    611
    I think, if you don't want to produce music professionally, an extra sound card isn't neccessary.
    Most current on board solutions are quite nice for the beginning. A good sound card reduces the latency and the noise level
    and increases the sound quality. If you want to use good headphones, also get a good sound card. Otherwise it makes no sense
    as you can't reach the full range of sound.

    Since I bought mine, I was able to hear the smallest differences in audio, which I never was able to before.
    Also the quality and ammount of lows, mids and highs got increased dramatically. Even just listening to regular
    music on my sound card opened up an entire new world of quality. But back in the days, my on board solution
    was pure crap, nowdays it's much better.

    But you know what? A better sound card doesn't make you a better producer so it isn't really neccessary.

    We started making music on an old Windows 2000 PC with 256Mb RAM and a 500Mhz single core processor using
    Fruity Loops 3 & 4 and Cubase SX 3 + WaveLab 2 together with a simple on board audio jack and in that time we
    had the best ideas. Better hardware didn't make us better musicians, it just made things a bit more comfortable.
     
  20. LuckySevens

    LuckySevens Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    3rd planet from the fireball...

    OMG... OP's specs indicate a 5400RPM HD... that means it's a LAPTOP!!!!!!!!!! Not a desktop... what idiot would put a 5400 rpm HD in a desktop!!!!! :rofl:
     
Loading...