Is my build enough?

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by Mixtic, Aug 15, 2018.

  1. Mixtic

    Mixtic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hello! So I am pretty oblivious to a lot of this, but I want to know if this would be enough to run multiple kontakt libraries whilst utilizing purging...or should should I just save up and upgrade more?

    CPU: Intel - Core i7-7700 3.6GHz Quad-Core Processor
    Motherboard: MSI - B250M PRO-VD Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
    Memory: G.Skill - Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200 Memory
    Storage: Kingston - A400 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
    Storage: Western Digital - Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
    DAW: FL Studio 11
    Interface: UR22mkII

    Many people are saying I should just save up and get 64gb of ram, but idk...I feel that purging unused samples can really do a lot. I am currently using 8gb ram with an i5 processor, so nevertheless I will be a lot more content compared to what I have now..I just need some guidance lol...ellipses.
    Thank you!
     
  2.  
  3. SquareDjay

    SquareDjay Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    France
    Nice!
    I am not an expert but 32GB is already big I think.I have only 16GB and I never have any problem with the ram.
    However I think that 128GB of SSD is not enough,256GB is the minimum.On my new pc i have installed few programs and it remains 133GB of free space on 256GB.
    And you know that when you buy a 128GB SSD or HD you get less than 128GB,you get around 110GB.
     
  4. huschiwuschi

    huschiwuschi Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Earth
    I would rather invest in. a 1 TB SSD (~ 200 $) rather then getting that loud , heat emmiting ancient 7200 hdd. And if you have another 200 get a secon 1tb ssd. That way you could clone the whole drive.(backup done fast ) Of course if 1 TB is ernough for all
     
  5. Recoil

    Recoil Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    433
    @huschiwuschi what is simpler, recovering data from SSD or HDD?:dunno:
     
  6. SmokerNzt

    SmokerNzt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    85
    Solid State Drive is not good , add 1gb PCI. at lest 500
    but rather then that everything is great
     
  7. taskforce

    taskforce Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    953
    Location:
    Studio 54
    Hi :)
    Ok, the misconception many people fall into is, that the cpu and ram are the only important pieces in any build, whereas they should be considered the most important but mobo, psu, cooling, case also play their role in a stable system build. Especially the mobo.
    So, the motherboard is one of the cheapest and not really fit for DAW purposes, i 'd recommend highly getting a Z270 mobo for that cpu. Btw you couldn't stick 64gb ram in that even if you wanted to, it only has 2 ram slots. Also and very important, that 3200mhz ram you 've chosen will go to waste and be forced to work at 2400mhz no matter what you do, the mobo you have chosen does NOT support ram frequencies higher than 2400 mhz and doesn't support OC or XMP either. Get a Z270 MSI or Gigabyte with 30 euros more (Asus and AsRock for about 40 more where i am), these mobos will work with your ram fine.
    The ssd is also the absolute cheapest and one of the lowest in endurance and performance in the category. My recommendation is a Crucial MX500 or Samsung 860EVO if you have the money and make it at least a 250gb drive. Win10 alone eats space like a mf and ssd's need always some space left.
    The hdd of choice is ok, in any case you run out of space you can add another.
    From those suggestions, the mobo is the most important, almost mandatory, whatever you do, don't buy anything other than a Z270 mobo for your i7.
    Cheers
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018
    • Agree Agree x 6
    • Like Like x 2
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  8. noisyjohn

    noisyjohn Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Athens
    My personal experience is that a I7 6 core 8th generation makes a big difference. I recently change CPU from I7 quad core 2nd generation (75% CPU load before and now 42%) . 24 GB of RAM is more than enough. SSD 512GB for OS is fine. RAID 0 for audio banks makes a faster load time (but x2 % failure risk ...)
    And here is the extra stuff: MLC SSD 512 GB module on board, with 2 virtual machines installed (win8 and win10), I make all tests and trials there, and then I decide what to install. No more freak outs :). I think its worth the money and the time spent. I use these VMs for Internet, antivirus, anti-spyware, email, office bla-bla. .. No more CPU load to the main installation, just music there!
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  9. huschiwuschi

    huschiwuschi Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Earth
    What's faster in cloning a SSD or a HDD ?
    :dunno: If one SSD die there is the other clone, noo need to recover anything, depending on how you clone the system

    Another option might be to clone to a hdd but then it needs be able to to disable to reduce heat , noise and vibration.

    just my taste
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2018
  10. huschiwuschi

    huschiwuschi Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Earth
    And waht will you put on that 1 GB PCI ?
     
  11. SmokerNzt

    SmokerNzt Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    85
    I just make MST. 1tb.
    Samsung 970 EVO V-Nand NVME PCIE M.2 MZ-V7E1T0 1TB SSD
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  12. taskforce

    taskforce Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    953
    Location:
    Studio 54
    That is a sort of tricky question hehe. Surely cloning an ssd to whatever media will be faster than cloning an hdd. Thing is, if an ssd fails, the chances of recovering data from it are almost zero. With hdds there is always the chance of recovering raw data from it using a recovery soft, if the hard drive in question still spins. But of course most of us have moved to ssds and we just put more frequent cloning/backup to our computer lives...
    Speed is never enough lol.
    Cheers:)
     
  13. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    190
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    CPU: Intel - Core i7-7700 3.6GHz Quad-Core Processor
    do think about i7-8700, it's 6-core, can boost up to 4.5GHz despite not being overclockable, could be worth it,

    Motherboard: MSI - B250M PRO-VD Micro ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
    if you don't plan to get overclockable cpu, and are aware of available connectors and I/O, then why not,

    Memory: G.Skill - Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200 Memory
    32GB really is reasonable for beyond-average virtual instrument workflow, maybe no need to go for 3200MHz, depends on price something like 2400MHz will make good enough, rather seek for lowest "CL" (latency) number,

    Storage: Kingston - A400 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
    if you want reliable workstation, think about something like 250-500GB Samsung 860 EVO or Crucial MX500,
    what I mean is, you should aim for higher capacity if it fits in your budget, and some decent performance drive if meant for OS+programs,
    you may as well pick the cheapest SSD, but again bigger capacity is worth it anytime,

    Storage: Western Digital - Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
    decent choice, in the long run you'll learn no capacity is enough once you get used to filling it, do check if 2TB model offers significantly better price/capacity ratio,

    DAW: FL Studio 11
    why not, there are plenty DAWs to choose from, apart from FL, you may give a try to Reaper, Studio One, Bitwig, Ableton, those are all composer-friendly DAWs available for Windows,

    Interface: UR22mkII
    not bad for a starter, me personally after years of being in pro-audio world learned the literally only choice with no compromise is RME, particularly the HDSPe series of PCIexpress audio interfaces which offer rock-solid reliability at extremely-low latency, although not being cheap, they save tons of money in the long run if you're willing to invest initially
     
  14. No Avenger

    No Avenger Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    1,374
    Likes Received:
    956
    Location:
    Europe
    I too would recommend 250GB SSD and of course a backup hd.
     
  15. vaiman

    vaiman Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    77
    Agree totally with a backup drive.
    64GB RAM is overkill in my eyes. Unless you are Hans Zimmer.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  16. rah

    rah Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    12
    I was looking up some tech reviews on SSDs a month ago and they were debating about size.
    They came to the conclusion that 500gb SSD was the sweet spot for maximum benefit and value
     
  17. Mixtic

    Mixtic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    10
    Thanks for the help guys, here is my updated build. I know it may be overkill, but I have been working off of 6GB of ram with an i5 processor for almost 8 years now, and I am tired of having my computer explode after loading just one instrument lol.
    CPU: Intel - Core i7-8700 3.2GHz 6-Core Processor
    Motherboard: MSI - Z370-A PRO ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
    Memory: Corsair - Vengeance LPX 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
    Storage: Samsung - 960 EVO 250GB M.2-2280 Solid State Drive
    Storage: Western Digital - Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  18. relexted

    relexted Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    I would stick to your old computer and spend all the money on a decent converter.
     
  19. saltwater

    saltwater Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    341
    do you go in the 100's of tracks full of orchestra libraries + all kinds of connected hardware?
    then your indeed hans zimmer :shalom:

    for that you have to leave the consumer area and get workstation hardware, there you can go beyond 64GB memory
    but thats another price league :cool:

    if not, then 64gb is probably overkill and a i5 8600k 32gb with a nice mobo/psu/case/good cooler/fans is probabbly a better choice.
    for audio work the i5 is faster and cheaper anyway, it just runs hotter and has no multithreading, which is close to useless in Audio anyway.

    64 gigs is quite an investment, it all depends what you want to do, maybe even 16 GB is more than enough.
    if you buy it because you need it, its gonna be worth every penny :yes:
    if you buy it because you want it, not. :no:
     
  20. taskforce

    taskforce Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    953
    Location:
    Studio 54
    And then stick a 5 dlr microphone to the high end converter while listening to it via some 10 dlr desktop speakers :hahaha:
     
  21. taskforce

    taskforce Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    953
    Location:
    Studio 54
    As you probably can see i agreed with ya but lemme please clarify... 64 gb ain't as much as you describe. You are nowhere Zimmer territory with that mate. I have 64gb in my main machine and i assure you i use Vienna Ensemble to hook a second slave machine (with another 32gb) for a couple of my studio clients. 64 gb will give you roughly 40-48 discrete orchestral Kontakt channels of good orchestral libs, and enough juice left for a medium size electric and/or electronic orchestration+fx plugs on the background. If you are doing serious orchestral work or just like grandiose arrangements, 64gb is just ok. A quick peek at the VSL forum will reveal people who use HEDT machines with 128gb and server boxes with 256gb of ram. These people are serious arrangers/composers and many of them have examples of their really top class work posted.
    My bottom line:
    If a person does strictly electronic genres, relying on virtual synths and the likes, 64gb of ram maybe overkill,they are better off with the fastest cpu they can get for their money. But if you rely on just your comp to make full blown orchestral music with samples, even for pre-production purposes, 64gb is merely adequate.
    Cheers mate :)
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - build enough Forum Date
Building a Violin in 8 Minutes! Instruments Aug 12, 2018
Audio PC build (July '18) Computer Hardware Jul 25, 2018
Build your own serum skin with ease Selling / Buying Jul 23, 2018
new pc build, do i need gpu?> PC Jul 15, 2018
Cannot rebuild database Live 10? Live Jul 8, 2018
Loading...