Is it worth it to turn an old Laptop into a hackintosh to get Logic?

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by xXDayDreamerXx, Jul 9, 2016.

  1. xXDayDreamerXx

    xXDayDreamerXx Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Up In The Clouds
    Hi there,
    I was wondering if it would be worth it to try to turn my old PC into a hackintosh, since I want Logic but don't have the funds to drop for a new mac..

    As stated above, it is a Laptop, 2011 HP, I'll find the exact name later.
    It has an 8 gig RAM, 64 bit, and an Intel dual core processor I believe.

    If turning this computer into a hackintosh isn't a good idea, is there a relatively old and cheap mac that I can get that can run the latest OS X with 4 gigs of RAM? (since that's what Logic requires.) My budget would be $200 total.

    Thanks for reading! ^^

     
  2.  
  3. muciones

    muciones Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    43
    I think with a SSD attached to it, it may work flawless
     
  4. mageye

    mageye Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    79
    Yes. I would also add the maximum amount of RAM to it. It would probably be 16Gb. Hackintosh can run on some pretty old hardware (by todays standards), so an HP machine that is from 2011 should be fine.
     
  5. DanielFaraday

    DanielFaraday Producer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    133
    I don't see any obvious reason to use logic, only if you have old projects that you need to finish in it. It's not superior to any other daw.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  6. xXDayDreamerXx

    xXDayDreamerXx Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Up In The Clouds
    The reason I'm interested in it is because the pricetag is very low and the interface looks nice. I'm an absolute noob to music production, and I figured it would be a good place to star. I'm currently just using Cubase AI and Studio One Artist, both of which are around $300 even with a student discount...
     
  7. DanielFaraday

    DanielFaraday Producer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    133
    Because due to their eula, you are allow to run their software only on their hardware. Which costs 1k+$

    So Logic isn't cheap. In fact it's even more expensive than protools solutions.
     
  8. xXDayDreamerXx

    xXDayDreamerXx Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Up In The Clouds
    Why do you think I want a hackintosh then? ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°) haha. That's actually a great point though.
     
  9. DanielFaraday

    DanielFaraday Producer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    133
    I can't get the point. You want to buy logic, but you are not ready to buy mac. I have obvious questions:
    Why buy logic, if you can you use it for free? Why don't buy any other daw that you can use everywhere (mac/pc)?
    I would choose cubase or studio one. At the moment they are the best money investment.
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 2
    • Love it! Love it! x 2
    • List
  10. Alex Philipp

    Alex Philipp Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    Hamburg
    If You "noob" better start with Ableton's Live. Or if You want more conventional sequencer, try REAPER. It cheap, but may be not easy to start from.
     
  11. DanielFaraday

    DanielFaraday Producer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    133
    I can't imagine worse option for producing.
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  12. NewWorld

    NewWorld Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't agree. At all...
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  13. xXDayDreamerXx

    xXDayDreamerXx Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Up In The Clouds
    Tried Reaper, wasn't a fan. :P I guess I'll just keep saving for Cubase.
     
  14. mild pump milk

    mild pump milk Russian Milk Drunkard

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,286
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Russia
    Reaper is not worse, it is extremely pro. Even on gearslutz a lot of people move from pro DAWs to reaper because of it functionality, customization which can make your reaper so easy or too complex, also workflow, extreme stability and other things that you can not find in other DAWs etc. I will never go back to previous DAWs. Bitwig is another side of ableton, but it is still raw like ntrack or mixcraft or other DAWs that are buggy and semi-pro. Ableton still can't do stuff people want, or even stuff that became a standard in all other DAWs. Logic is a level of reaper, but another and Mac only. Couple of years and reaper will fk all the DAWs because of everything. It's only ~11 years only and team is small. Imagine what they did. They do what people want to have. Other developers do what they want to present as a brand-new unique. We choose marketing or really good product, not overhyped. Same with TDR plugins. Quality means quality, not marketing salesman's words describing it's quality that really not works as described. Everything is good, but something maybe better. Sorry for off-topic. If I had mac or hackintosh I would install logic as second daw next to reaper.
     
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  15. fiction

    fiction Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    178
    Best Answer
    Do it! Dual core and 8GB RAM sounds good enough.
    LPX has its own strengths and lots of great instruments and FX included, not to mention the huge factory library.
    As muciones said, you might consider an SSD to speed up loading times and responsiveness with many audio tracks or loops.
    BTW, remember that LPX only supports 64bit AU instruments/plugins natively, that's why I like to have 32bit Ableton for VST and AU as well.
    I wish you good luck and enough patience for setting up the machine, depending on your model it can take some time but it's worth it!!
     
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  16. xXDayDreamerXx

    xXDayDreamerXx Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Up In The Clouds
    Reaper has a very loyal following, and I can see why people like it but I honestly could never get into it myself. I'm looking for a DAW that comes with a lot of its own factory plugins and synths since I don't have very much money to spend.. ^^' It just didn't have what I was looking for and the interface was kind of strange but I did manage to get used to it. Good to know that logic isn't that bad though. :)
    Thanks~! Logic really sounds like exactly what I'm looking for then, and I will probably drop the money for a mac later on since they are good-looking (just look-wise though.. They aren't very powerful machines from what I've seen lol) I think I'll get an SSD if I can even get El Capitan to run on my old pc first...
     
  17. jayxflash

    jayxflash Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    414
    Apple constantly removes support for old processors in new OS's, so you may want to dig more in what is the most recent OS you can install on a dual core processor. Even the owner of Mac Pro 1 had some issues upgrading to the latest OS. I may be wrong, but worth investigating.
     
  18. mageye

    mageye Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    79
    I'm not sure how much you know about hackintosh but it can be a steep learning curve. Tonymac is a pretty good starting point from a guides point of view.

    The older Chameleon based boot-loader (Yosemite backwards) is easier to learn than the Clover boot-loader (that is technically more dynamic and better). Why is the boot-loader important? Because you have to learn Clover to run any version of El-Capitan and beyond. That's why I have stuck with Yosemite on my main desktop machine (Clover is much more difficult for me to get right!)
     
  19. xXDayDreamerXx

    xXDayDreamerXx Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Up In The Clouds
    Good to know! I believe it was the last time I looked, since I was looking at El Capitan's requirements. But I'll probably be double-checking anyways since I haven't checked on the compatibility of every little thing in my old PCyet.. My hope is to have a smooth transition over to OS X and not have to take apart my laptop and put new guts in it... D:

    Ah, I might double check to see if you can still download Logic on Yosemite then so I can try the easier learning curve.. Thanks for letting me know!
     
  20. mageye

    mageye Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    79
    I wouldn't worry too much about the dual-core thing. I have installed most versions of OSX on dual core machines.

    EDIT: Also let can you let us know your exact model of laptop? (I like to research these things to see the viability on specific hardware!)
     
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2016
  21. DanielFaraday

    DanielFaraday Producer

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    133
    Nerdfest doesn't means pro.
     
    • Dislike Dislike x 2
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - worth turn Laptop Forum Date
SampleTekk's Spring Sale - Win $100 worth of samples Selling / Buying May 6, 2017
Sorry if this already posted...R.I.P. Allan Holdsworth Lounge Apr 19, 2017
How much this vintage drums worth? Instruments Mar 19, 2017
i5 6600k upgrade to i7 7700k, worth it? Computer Hardware Mar 17, 2017
Is Softube Modular worth buying? Software Mar 6, 2017
Loading...