Is it possible to repack one instrument from a sample library?

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by secrettunnel1234, Jun 12, 2019.

  1. secrettunnel1234

    secrettunnel1234 Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Basically I want to use only the Horns from Spitfire Symphonic Brass on my laptop, but leave the rest of the library since it is too big and I do not use it. I saw that someone made a vocal only repack of the Jaeger library so I wanted to know if this was possible, and if so how I should go about doing it.
     
  2.  
  3. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,723
    Likes Received:
    944
    Location:
    Europe
    Yes, it can be done. It's a bit of work though. I don't have time now but if other users doesn't answer I'll tell you how.
     
  4. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,723
    Likes Received:
    944
    Location:
    Europe
    I've looked at the files of that lib and it's probably easy to do:

    Of all these steps, probably only 2 and 3 are mandatory.

    1. Backup all the files but the .nkx ones. I recommend doing it for every Kontakt lib. That includes the .nkr file inside the samples folder.
    2. Delete all instruments .nki files but the horn ones
    3. Delete all the .nkx sample files but the horn ones. Don't delete the .nkr file inside the samples folder.
    4. Batch resave the library instruments. If it shows "files missing":
    4.1. Use the option of Browse folder. Check the option "keep this mode" (or something alike) and point to the library main folder
    4.2. If it keeps saying files missing click the ignore option

    Cross your fingers and try it. If not write here what went wrong.
    Hope it helps :wink:
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2019
  5. rudolph

    rudolph Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    159
    It´s much easier than that, just load your horns and in the Kontakt header look for "save as" click "patch + samples" , compress samples (optional) choose a location. Now look where you save it and there´s is your instrument. Now you can delete all the big library. Good luck.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Love it! Love it! x 1
    • List
  6. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,723
    Likes Received:
    944
    Location:
    Europe
    It's likely than he doesn't need to recompress the samples. There are separated and clearly named nkx files.
    Actually, perhaps resaving the instruments it's not even necessary.
     
  7. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    1,723
    Likes Received:
    944
    Location:
    Europe
    Oh, now I see why you told that. If the OP were to use only one instrument then your method is totally fine.
    The thing is that library has at least 6-10 horn instruments (.nki) and 3-4 hirn sample files (.nkx).
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - possible repack instrument Forum Date
Chordpulse possible convert to format VSTI or similar ? Software Jun 4, 2019
Cracked CTC-1 on Legit S1 - Possible? Studio One Jun 3, 2019
Is possible to add accent or slide to hardware sequencer during control vst tb-303 like? Software May 23, 2019
Can someone please help ID The chords and if possible the notes in the arpeggio? how to make "that" sound Apr 26, 2019
is this possible in cubase ? Working with Sound Apr 22, 2019
Loading...