Is Audio engineering a good career to pursue and how does one achieve it?

Discussion in 'Education' started by AviatOfficial, Nov 14, 2014.

1. AviatOfficial

AviatOfficial Member

Well,Currently I'm in 12th standard(High School) in Science Stream and I have been learning singing and piano since last 6-7 years and I have started to produce Electronic Music since last couple of months.You can listen them on My SoundCloud(from my profile).And I want to make a career in Audio Engineering and also be a Music Producer.

From what I've heard, the audio engineering business is dying(or even the music studios are becoming less prominent) :unsure: and it's extremely hard to get a good paying job (in a studio, for instance) unless you have good connections in the business.
    I have read many forums that doing an Internship can be a big shot for entering into this rather than joining a institute for Sound Degree.

Would it be a good idea for me to go to an audio engineering school and then try to get an internship at a studio and work my way up from there, or would I be better off getting a degree in Computer Science/IT and just producing as a hobby?

I'm still pretty much confused and need some good guidance about it :dunno:

Thanks in advance :bow:

3. Davey Jones

Davey Jones Producer

Nah. The music industry is rough right now. It's even tough to get an internship. Sounds like I'm killing your dream, but look elsewhere within the field of audio.

4. rickbarratt

rickbarratt Producer

I would agree with going into live sound.

I have a first diploma an extended diploma & a foundation degree by may i will also have a B.A Honours in Audio Engineering & Producing.

it is VERY HARD to get into a studio, and believe me these "internships" aren't anything it'd be months before you even was allowed to touch the equipment.

believe me you will never see advertised in the paper

"Wanted Sound Engineer" it just doesn't happen