Is Adam Szabo's Viper worth a purchase?

Discussion in 'Samplers, Synthesizers' started by Bunford, Apr 29, 2024.

1. Bunford

Bunford Audiosexual

Really like the sound of this one, as an ex-owner of a Virus Ti2, but just wondering if it's worth a purchase for a techno/tech house producer? Is it updated regularly, and are they quality updates?

Is it worth it with the latest Usual Suspects' OsTIrus release, as I imagine Viper will be more economical on its CPU usage?

3. Kate Middleton

Kate Middleton Kapellmeister

i have both.. both are good i can say.. for techno yes.. not sure about tech house.. its not updated often tho.. so soundsets you can find on the internet. but i like viper too... but ostirus is virus emulation

4. DoubleTake

DoubleTake Audiosexual

I am just a hobbyist who never owned any hardware virus, but have messed with Osirus and OsTirus quite a bit.
    I find all 3 fun and not frustrating, and for me that means pretty easy to make sounds / alter sounds and understand what changed and how!
    Some synths it takes me a long time to figure out what I did wrong, or when i do something right , how the hell i did it.
    So I bought Viper.

5. ArticStorm

ArticStorm Moderator Staff Member

Adam did a really good job to create a good close Virus clone, and its also a good alternative if you want to use less CPU resources for basic virus sounds.

I know we have the osirus and ostirus now for free, but there is something nice about using Viper just like u use Sylenth1 or Serum without worrying about your physical CPU Cores. Also VIper does load Virus banks and the sound is so close.

OsTIrus is emulating the DSP Chips inside the Virus Ti Snow and TI2, so that it can run the Virus OS on it inside the plugin.

Viper uses own DSP code to get as close to the virus sound as you can.

If you are not for the "extra 5% sound", then Viper can deliver very close sound!

Last edited: Apr 29, 2024
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  6. Chaindog