Intriguing questions about my vocal mixing

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by styffer, Aug 8, 2020.

1. styffer

styffer Newbie

Hey, here is a little briefing; I'm 18 years old, I live in Brazil, I've been producing for 2 years, in music 5, I started to produce trap music 4 months ago, and started to record vocals and mix them in june, but I have a lot of doubts and questions about it.
    I don't have a lot of money to invest atm, and equipment is pretty expensive here, so I use what I have:
    mic: B1 Behringer, audio interface: UM2 Behringer, headphones: Logitech G430
    My first question is, how precise are studio headphones compared to my current headphones (probably a lot)
    I have a brazillian trap band, I produce their songs, we have a small home studio with acoustic foams, and I would like to know if you guys could help me with advices to improve my mixing when it comes to vocals.
    Here is a piece of our song I am producing, the song preview quality is pretty bad, I believe it is because of zippyshare

I'm using nectar 3 on vocals, for the first guy in the chorus, he put proportional eqs with; -2db in 170hz, 499hz, 1720hz and 4313hz (same eq here for the second guy that sings the verses), a de-esser, another eq with a high pass at 60hz, lowering 1db at the frequencies around 130 and 540hz, and then boosting 1700 in 1db and 5k in 2.5db that goes 0db at 18000hz, it uses 1 compressor here; ratio: 4.04 : 1, attack 2.2ms, release 150ms, makeup at 0 and threshold at 21.4, i put some reverb in the mid range and some small 1/2 stereo delay, and I just noticed I'm using auto level mode at -8db.