Intel I7-4790k

Discussion in 'PC' started by Riansky, Mar 24, 2016.

1. Riansky

Riansky Kapellmeister

Hello guys!

I'm planing on upgrading my pc a bit as is starting to max out with my productions lately so I'm in an urge for a new CPU. I have to mention I'm by no means an expert with processors so yeah. I was wondering if its the Intel I7-4790k still worht buying considering its now 2years old CPU? Or should I maybe go with something more recent, like skylake technology?

Thanks for your input!

3. midi-man

midi-man Audiosexual

Yes the newer chips are a little better but have a lower clock speed. If you want more get the 6 or 8 core.
    I have not regretted buying my 4960k. I have it water cooled and have not over clocked it yet.

• Like Like x 1
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • List
  4. GODSanAI

GODSanAI Kapellmeister

It depends...Are you building from scratch? If so, I'd go with with the i7 6700. I would only go with the i7 6700k if I was planning on overclocking. If you're not going to overclock, the i7 6700 should be sufficient. DDR4 ram is only a couple buck more than DDR3 so you should be good.

If you are only going to upgrade an existing motherboard that is compatible with the i7 4790k, than I would get that. Again, only get the i7 4790k if you are planning on overclocking, otherwise the i7 4790 should be sufficient.

You may even look into the i5 CPUs. They are basically just i7s without hyperthreading. The i7s also have a slightly higher clock speed.

Whats the specs on your current rig?

5. shomyca

shomyca Producer