Installing NI Massive

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by litewait, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. litewait

    litewait Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Ive had this installed about a year ago but forgot exactly how its done as the screenshots are missing from the help that was provided

    link removed.

    near the bottom of the page is this comment. Can anyone help? I've tried but i only get the buy or demo box appear. Thanks


     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 12, 2018
  2.  
  3. Studio 555

    Studio 555 Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    120
    @ Litewait,

    A simple suggestion : Why don't directly try to be in touch with the author of these instructions ?
    In this case : 'Tremors'.

    He certainly knows better than anybody what's going on with that... *yes*
     
  4. litewait

    litewait Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0

    ive tried and no reply
     
  5. Feridan

    Feridan Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm guessing here, but there should be several files. Probably one big pkg which is the demo and a folder containing
    four files named

    massive.vst
    massive.component
    massive.dpm
    massive.app

    Is that correct?

    Install the big file first. Once you have the demo installed go looking for these files

    massive.vst
    massive.component
    massive.dpm
    massive.app

    they should be in:

    /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/Components
    /Library/Audio/Plug-Ins/VST
    /Library/Application Support/Digidesign/Plug-Ins
    /Applications/Native Instruments/Massive

    Send those four files to the trash.

    Now, instead of using Batchmod, open Terminal.app and type exactly
    Code:
    sudo chmod -R 755
    leave a space behind 755 and then drag the folder that came with the k's onto the Terminal window. That should give
    you a path to that folder.

    Hit return and the prompt (the little $ sign) will change to 'Password:'

    Now enter your Admin password (don't worry if nothing seems to happen while entering your pass, that's normal)

    Hit return again.

    If the shell throws an error, post it here.

    Now drag the four files inside the folder provided by Assign onto their respective locations mentioned above.

    That should do the trick. If there isn't a folder, just type sudo chmod -R 755, then highlight
    all four files provided by Assign and drag them into the Terminal window at once.

    If you want to use BatchMod make sure you tick 'Apply to enclosed folder and files' at the bottom. People keep
    forgetting to do that. Technically an app, component, etc., is a special type of folder. So if you don't instruct
    Batchmod to work recursively, you'll only change the permissions for the top container.
     
  6. litewait

    litewait Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Worked first time. thanks a lot

     
  7. litewait

    litewait Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0

    will i be able to do exactly the same with fm8 and the other ni apps?
     
  8. Feridan

    Feridan Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes. If you have the pre-cracked versions of the standalone and plug-ins.

    If I remember right, that series of cracks by Assign all had a problem with wrong permissions.
    What sudo chmod 755 does is correct the permissions to be read-write-execute for the User,
    Group and World get only read and executable, not write. It doesn't crack the plugins or binaries,
    it just corrects the permissions.

    if you update either Massive, or FM8, or any other apps the magic will no longer work, as the k'd binaries
    are then replaced with new and unregistered ones by NI. So you're stuck with the version number of the
    k's Assign has provided.

    And as always: If you make money with it, repay NI by buying the stuff.

    Otherwise BAD KARMA.

    Not sure though if FM8 has been discontinued.
     
  9. litewait

    litewait Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi. i was able to install massive, fm8, battery & reaktor but i cant save the patches. massive has save as unhighlighted and
    fm8 said save as is not available on demo mode even though both apps licences says its full

    is there a work around this?
     
  10. Feridan

    Feridan Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try escalating the privileges to 777

    sudo chmod -R 777

    If that doesn't work, it could be that you have an earlier incomplete k. Try looking for something called a 'Fix' online. Sometimes the two main teams that released for the Mac (Assign and Dynamics) missed protections and then later released an update. The file should have 'fix', 'hotfix', 'fix only' in the file name. Or you could try and finder a later version number of what you want to use.

    You might have to be patient, though, as both teams have retired and links go down eventually. Sooner or (usually) later someone will re-upload some of the old stuff. You could try contacting some of the old uploaders, perhaps they'll respond.

    BTW, don't request warez here at AudioSEX. It is against the rules. It's OK to discuss technical issues, but no warez requests.
     
  11. damncas

    damncas Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    just get assign version
     
  12. litewait

    litewait Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am trying the assign versions but as i said, the screen shots are missing i dont know the settings


    thanks but no joy. still full licence with no save as!

    also the only update i can find is windows

    i just assumed the amount of people who installed this, someone must know how they did it. i had it working when assign released them nearly a year ago but ive formatted my laptop since then and ive forgot how i done it
     
  13. Feridan

    Feridan Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you have other apps by NI that are fully registered and run them in conjunction with k'd versions?

    In other words have you used the Service Center recently? That could be the source of your problems.
     
  14. litewait

    litewait Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    FM8 says its a demo when i try and save a patch
    Battery seems ok. I can save and it says the licence is full

    I havent run the Service Centre or anything. i stay clear of that
     
  15. litewait

    litewait Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's k'd versions?

     
  16. Feridan

    Feridan Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    1
    k'd = cracked, or in NI's case kracked.

    I think you need to try a different version of FM8. If memory serves, there was one version
    either by Assign or Dynamics that was not fully operational. It showed the full license but
    saving was still disabled.

    You could try trashing the preferences for FM8 but I doubt that'll fix it.
     
  17. iron riffle

    iron riffle Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any one how to use sudo chmode +x to crack a software on i mac.

    please advice.
     
  18. ArticStorm

    ArticStorm Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3,822
    Likes Received:
    1,170
    Location:
    AudioSexPro
    dude that article is 5 years old, better open a new article and describe your problem properly with OS, version umber of plugin, etc
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Installing Massive Forum Date
I need help installing NI Massive PC Apr 27, 2013
Help With Installing Studio One 4 Additional Content Studio One Aug 28, 2018
Problem Installing Waves 10 Mac / Hackintosh Aug 21, 2018
Trouble Installing D16 Repeater Software Jun 18, 2018
Latest waves only partially installing. Software Apr 29, 2018
Loading...