I'm terrible at making basslines...All suggestions welcome!

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by EAR TO LEARN, Jan 26, 2018.

1. EAR TO LEARN

EAR TO LEARN Producer

Hey everyone, I'm new to this site (as a member, i have been referencing it for a few years now) and as the title suggests I am TERRIBLE at making basslines. I have a basic understanding of music theory, no expert but enough to get tracks how I want them to sound apart from the bass. It's not a mixing issue I just have no idea how to make decent ones consistently. If I could just master that I'd be very grateful to anyone who could help me with some tips in terms of how and where to place notes. I make mostly hip hop and grime music (grime is a uk sub genre of hip hop and soundsystem music) All suggestions are welcome!

EDIT/UPDATE: I'd just like to say thank you to everyone for all the warm welcomes and varied chunks of advice in such a short time and on my first post too!. I can tell you now I genuinely appreciate it and will be taking everything on board. To anyone else that wants to throw their two cents in, I'm sure there are more people here (myself included) that would love your input. This seems to be a very interesting and quite polarising topic

Last edited: Jan 26, 2018
  3. Futurewine

Futurewine Audiosexual

4. DJK

DJK Rock Star

listen to music in the genre you want to make, drop it your DAW and listen, i was crap at basslines as well, but my genre is trance & proghouse,

5. Lepow

Lepow Producer

@MJ hi there, welcomes apart, grime came from uk garage (big ups its 20 years birthday this year), since u.s. are great on appropriate others culture and call it own, just like dubstep, hip hop was once funky and r&b grooves, then lots happened since the seventies, what was the question anyway?! : )

6. TW

TW Guest

Watch this, 6 simple easy tricks to spice up basslines. Theese tricks are usefull in nearly any style of music...

Last edited by a moderator: Jan 26, 2018