I'm Newbie in music. wanting to produce Progressive House kind of music, Help

Discussion in 'Education' started by TeonKan, Jul 30, 2015.

1. TeonKan

TeonKan Noisemaker

Hi, as the title said, i am new in music, actually starting to learn Music theory..
    i just want to ask some advice on where should i start..
    i want to make a music like Progressive House, Tropical House
    please share me your knowledge about these two genre.. and how can i make good at it..
    thank you so much in advance

3. mono

mono Audiosexual

4. mewoingtons

mewoingtons Producer

Listen to a lot of deadmau5's early work. Learn how to make pluck sounds, nearly any synth can do it. Download free midi files online and learn from them, learn why they sound good. I'd recommend deadmau5 midi files of course. Get some high quality drum samples, maybe try Vengeance drum samples. Then just keep going at it until you get good.

5. xsze

xsze Guest

6. remix

remix Platinum Record

This may sound silly in todays climate but...

Learn to play an instrument, just the basics will do...

Knowing some basic chords and scales will help you no end...

• Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  7. jhagen

jhagen Platinum Record

easy one,

listen the music you like, download stuff on AZ, play your style, upload on soundcloud.
    that's it.

8. Vince Bramich

Vince Bramich Ultrasonic

I too recommend learning an instrument. No need to spend money on lessons either. I learned to play guitar off tabs and piano from YouTube.
    I'm competent enough on both to play songs start to finish (sounds silly but for ages all I could do was play small sections)

I'd recommend piano as you're prob gonna use your keyboard a lot to produce.
    Start with learning your triads and inversions.

And check out the education section right here

9. zero-frag

zero-frag Producer

Yeah learn some basic keyboard stuff. Knowing your way around a few chords here and there will help you tremendously.