I want to give saturation a try. I have zero idea what to look for in a plugin

Discussion in 'Software' started by krameri, Aug 13, 2023.

1. krameri

krameri Platinum Record

I've never used a saturation plugin before (to my knowledge), so I'd like your input on what I can try out (maybe I'll find it on the sister site). Thank you!

3. Xupito

Xupito Audiosexual

Oh man, this is gonna explode. There are more saturation plugins than freakin grains of sand in a desert.

• Funny Funny x 6
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  4. Backtired

Backtired Audiosexual

what kind of music are you making?
    i guess we talk different saturations if you're mixing rock or you want to saturate some synths for trance music or whatever...

5. stopped

stopped Producer

• Like Like x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  6. krameri

krameri Platinum Record

I didn't know that. I'm making almost exactly trance music! Also, I'm using Logic on MacOS Ventura, so I'm looking for Mac/AU.

7. triggerflipper

triggerflipper Audiosexual

Overall FabFilter's Saturn 2 is just pure awesomeness. It can do anything between subtle coloration to total mayhem.
    A similar one is Melda's MSaturatorMB.

For trance music, I would also recommend Unfiltered Audio's Dent 2 and iZotope's Trash 2. Both plugins are insane sound design tools. Just slap them on some loops, mess with the parameters while recording. If you do that for 20 minutes you'll have so much material to chop up, resample etc. that you won't need a synth at all lol.

• Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  8. Lieglein

Lieglein Audiosexual

Trance synths usually do not need saturation anyways because they already are super dense.
    It's a process of sound design and if you are able to design your sounds like you want right now, there is no need for extra saturation.