I really hate to ask another question but i'm stuck. Mixing Question...

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by SteveDuda'sBoyfriend, Oct 14, 2016.

1. SteveDuda'sBoyfriend

SteveDuda'sBoyfriend Noisemaker

Over the last few months I have been studying music production alone in the Sonoran Desert... No distractions but the cactus and my own thoughts. I have been learning many different ways of mixing techniques in Ableton from gain staging every track to other peoples opinions of mixing loud. I see benefits to both of these approaches and it just feels like each Mix I do, I do differently and sometimes it turns out well and sometimes not.. I really need to get my mixing fundamentals down. Is it better to 'mix loud' or set every sample/audio at -8 for kick -10 for guitars fx -12 for hhats upper frequency instruments etc. And try to hit -6 rms in the mixdown, then limit.

3. subGENRE

subGENRE Audiosexual

I am far from an expert but it goes like this for me. I mix low my 2bus is only maxing -15 to -18 rms before mastering. Everything is gain staged properly. I start my kicks at -8 and then build around that but not using any chart to tell me what to set faders at. I use my ears. After Im done I usually end up shaving around another -5 dB on the group buses to get it down in-between -15 to -18rms. The headroom gives me more room to work in my fake attempt at mastering and limiting. I can push the emulations harder to get more character out of them. Does this make sense? I could be doing it all wrong too.
    And here's the important part. There is no set mastering chain. Its knowing your plugins and what kind of color/character they bring to the mix and using them to get what you want. I'll kiss it with some tape, tube, and or transformer flavor in this stage depending on what I want to do, and the genre. Then after I get it where I want, I use the limiters to make it loud.