I Need Musician's Input on Darker Styles of Electronic Productions

Discussion in 'Electronic' started by mark@WFstudios, Nov 22, 2013.

1. mark@WFstudios

mark@WFstudios Member

Hi everyone,
    Hope your all doing swell.

I have a couple questions to ask regarding darker styles of electronic music. Im speaking of electronic in the broad sense (all darker electronic genres).

Ok, so i've been self taught since I started electronic productions & I didn't grow up playing any instruments and no music theory, most of my tracks are made purely by ear etc.
    However I feel im at the stage where having no music theory knowledge is starting to slow me down alot on starting new tracks. So i've been putting in some effort on self teaching music theory to myself from online resources , im still very noob to it but I know more then I did previously.
    Also now that im older unfortunately I don't really have the time, money, or resources to start any kind of music theory training this late in my life.

So this brings me to my question which is:

Q) If I was looking at making darker styles of electronic music (basically any electronic genre) for eg's It could be dark techno , dark minimal , dark psytrance , dark progressive , dark chill out , etc etc , What would be the kind of recommended "go to" keys and scales for these darker styles ?

As I feel my current process of just using "my ears" is now becoming more time wasting then productive, im a bit of a calculated person so I think if I knew which kind of keys and scales I should be looking at for these darker styles I think would help me tremendously for continuing my passions for music production.

Thanks so much for any input :)
    Take Care

3. SillySausage

SillySausage Producer

basic rule

major keys = happy/bright

minor keys = sad/dark