I need help with choosing the right DAW.

Discussion in 'DAW' started by TheDude, Dec 20, 2012.

1. TheDude

TheDude Newbie

I have been a audio and mastering engineer for a very long time and these days, I have a lot of free time as I am permanently on disability. I mainly do mastering in with Magix Sequoia (thanks to AudioZ!) or Samplitude. Since I am have all this time I am wanting to do something more creative with my time. I have a very little experience with Cubase, but none with Abelton Live. I am wanting to find accapella tracks and work with those initially. Are the end results going to be worth my time to go thru all the time to learn something totally new like Ableton? For instance, Samplitude was a tough one because before that, I was mostly doing stuff with protools, but in the end, it is a lot easier for me to get what I am after sonically. Thoughts? Opinions? Samp and Seq don't seem very midi friendly to me, and it doesn't allow side-chaining, which is important in that kind of music.

What do the people doing those kind of tracks tend to use?

3. fuad

fuad Producer

Having tried every single DAW that ever existed I can safely say you could narrow it down to two options
    1) Ableton Live - an awesome DAW with everything you need right out of the box..it has endless capabilities when it comes to production, editing and doing cool and different stuff with your audio like chopping it up, remixing etc..it has decent quality plugins that cover all bases..it's pretty easy to use and workflow it great. everything is laid out logically and it's pretty straight forward. Also, there are TONS of tutorials online and on youtube showing you how to do a million different things with it, anything you can imagine. The midi editing is excellent, beat matching and time stretching is very good
    Sidechaining? Ableton has the easiest sidechaining function in the world.