I KNOW these pads sound obvious but can't find anything close...

Discussion in 'how to make "that" sound' started by ulrichburke, May 20, 2016.

1. ulrichburke

ulrichburke Newbie

Dear Anyone.

Here's a couple of links to YouTube artists - I'm not good at programming synths - trying to learn - but I'm after similar pad sounds to these.

Yellow Brick Cinema

Medwyn Goodall

Karunesh

OK. It's the PAD sound I'm after - in the Medwyn Goodall and Karunesh it's the sound in the middle of the sandwich - rhythm, tune, pad in middle - in the Yellow Brick Cinema it's the whole danged caboodle! I've put this post on similar forums and everyone says 'Nothing odd here... you can get these sounds anywhere...' but I must have just about 40 different synths, some freeware, others demo versions (no pirates!) and I can't find how to get sounds like these pads out of any of them and I'm beginning to think I make the stars of Dumb and Dumber look like geniuses!

Please could someone rub my nose into how/where to get pads that do these kinda jobs (hopefully presets or, if not, please can I have a couple of clues about which synth to use - I can list all the ones I've got if wanted - and what the heck to do to which sound to get ones like any of the above artists coming out of my software? Once I've seen how to do ONE, I'm sure I'll get the hang of creating/finding the others. But I've been trying to get this right for over 2 years now (yeah, that's WHY I feel dumber than Dumb and Dumber!!) and I've yet to get close...

So laugh all you will, then give me a clue? Please? (If it's a choice between cheap/free synths and bad versions of these sounds or expensive synths and exact matches, tell me both cos there might be player versions of the expensive ones with a couple of the pads on! These artists use a pretty small selection of these sounds all the time anyway, it's just I can't find any of them.)

Yours hopefully

Chris.

3. focusrite

focusrite Platinum Record

4. Baxter