[HOWTO] Instaling Synthogy Ivory 1.63 on Windows 7 x64

Discussion in 'Software Reviews and Tutorials' started by nikon, Apr 3, 2014.

  1. nikon

    nikon Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    168
    Last night I install Ivory and I have some troubles, so I would like to share complete procedure and howto with all of you.

    Earlier I use this piano on my XP 32, and after I move to Windows 7 64 I never install again... The second reason until now I have no 40Gb free space :)

    1) Run installer and install basic software
    • location of library for me is on second big drive
    • location of plugins (vst/rtas) is on known location

    2) Because installer cannot install library from mounted cd, it will run library tool and result as error - just close that

    3) Copy contents from folder "ivory items" to drive you decide to install library, and do it all the same for every single image (10 total)
    • copy "ivory items" from cd => q:\library\ivory\ivory items\ (per example)
    • just mount every single image and do the same procedure

    4) After finished step 3, delete all from c:\program fiels (x86)\Synthogy\

    5) Install 1.63 update and it will install new plugins and new Library tool

    6) Run library tool (it's located at q:\library\ivory\ivory items\tools\Ivory Library Tool.exe and run option convert
    • it will taka time to convert from mac images to win supported image
    • when finish, that's all for library and plugins

    7) Because plugins are vst32 and rtas and I use x64 DAW I run JBridge and brigde ivory plugin
    • that's work but I experince some glithecs and cpu peaks when turn knobs etc....
    • IMPORTANT: in Jbridge setup of runned plugin I turn option "slugish GUI" and problem gone
    • now work perfectly in Live/Studio One/etc... RTAS work great too, CPU is about 1%

    It's really best sounding piano... if you look at CPU usage and sound
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  2. Andrew

    Andrew AudioSEX Maestro Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,979
    Likes Received:
    1,179
    Location:
    Between worlds
    Thanks nikon,
    had no troubles with Ivory 1.64 on my Win7 x86-64, the installation procedure was a bit cumbersome, but it's definitely doable.
    This guide will definitely help certain users, the 6th point is perhaps the most crucial one. On AudioZ there is Mac version of the sample package, so with WIN, you need to convert it, took me some time to figure that :bleh:
     
  3. nikon

    nikon Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    168
    that's the main reason of posting, took me some time too :)
     
  4. drdark2

    drdark2 Guest

    And after you convert the samples, for example like I did with Bosendorfer, you can simply store them for later installations; all you need is to keep the Ivory Items folder structure and locate the folder within the Cantabile standalone or plugin.
     
  5. nikon

    nikon Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    168
    Great info, I didn't know that...
     
  6. hamid.eddie

    hamid.eddie Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    butt-line ( Does It Work Under Any Steinberg Vst Host Daws or even VSTperformer )?


    Although I have Installed the stupid (absolutely lovely great piano : 1.64) on Win 8 64x(it's a little bit tricky ,but not in a smart fashion , i may include for anyone which may comes useful )And it Is Working Great Both In VST And Stand Alone , And it is part of my main setup for all the studio instruments to work 24/7 (pick it up and play ) BUT THERE IS ONE UNBEARING PROBLEM With it( it may not related to it at all) In VST Protocol is that ,there is no way for any of the Steinberg Hosts (DAWs) to get the strangest behavior with its 1.64 Update (before that the plugin GUI Is just available with no Sound library detection ) , but after that , they assume it as ver 1.6.0.0 with the wrong path ,and they will get a complicated situation leads to hang with so many windows component involving and its first chain of error starts with VSTbridge,,,.exe failure )

    and as it is my studio Vst host , it just F****up my work flow . but in Live VST Hosts(like brainspawn forte 3,xx.xx.xxxx) (both 64 and 32) it works unbelievably smooth (in between over 20 other heavy VSTi s) and as for their job necessity , they tend to over stress the plugings ,and do whatever they could do to crash them intentionally ,for the sake of the live performance you could not risk under them, and its just too good and fitted in my 24/7 active 4 Audio Instrument (Guitars el *2 Bass Guitar ,And Piezi pu nylon acoustic , And Vocal ) heavy Multi-Fx ing Rigs like ( amplitube / Guitar rig ) setup with 20 main VSTi for two keyboard ) and it is almost 1 month working like hell : you will never see such a thing that changes your feel of the keys and such a control over their dynamic and sounding , never !!! it will make you to consider 5 hours of practicing piano happily )

    I Hope if Anyone that is running them on (cubase (5, 7 ) , nuendo ,Or even VSTperformer (free client side net solution for recording and playing in jamm over globe by simple net connection ).

    I Also read something about Jbridge , as if it is some stand alone application for compatibility provider between 32 and 64 bit host, / I know it as an internal component of my 64 bit
    Forte , But I Hope It Provide me atleast some hope for using it under Cubase 7.07 element ( I Almost 95% of my whole life had the heaviest practicing (wood shed ) session whilst the music is what there is , this passion roots its energy in an unknown ways , i really terrified it shut my work completely )

    WITH LOVE (an ending solo of my works in Writing Solo project over 15 years ago :waited just now to re-record and fit into the main 24 minute prog-rock arrange ))

    Some Parts of my site

    Waiting and challenging the stupid situation solution for share or take . be cool
     
  7. Olymoon

    Olymoon MODERATOR Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    3,664
    Likes Received:
    2,472
    Thank you Nikon Followed all your explanation and it's working fine under win7 x64 sp1, sequoiax64. version 1.6 had a lot of crackles apparently due to bridge and after updated to 1.64 there are less but still some.

    It is huge, 40 Gb and expensive 258€ but I must recognize that the sound is splendid and full, the only ones I've found that come close, in term of richness of sound, are Kontakt libs Galaxy Vienna Grand and Orange tree samples Evolution Rosewood Grand. Obviously I haven't try each and every virtual pianos so there are probably more.
     
  8. Nsaproductions

    Nsaproductions Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Guys

    Can anyone explain how to properly install Ivory 1.64 on win 7 as I get no sound. I've installed 'Ivory Items' to C:\Ivory items as per install. Finished Checking and Converting sound files using the library tool as per install and still no sound. Midi light flashes when I hit key in daws such as FLStudio, Sonar & PT but there is no way to point to library via vst. Its Just seems dead. please help!!

    ive used your replies to guide me through install but still no sound :(

    Help.
     
  9. celtic3342

    celtic3342 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,423
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    My Ivory is 58.7 GB...
     
  10. celtic3342

    celtic3342 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    1,423
    Likes Received:
    1,041
    [​IMG]
     
  11. Nsaproductions

    Nsaproductions Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok guys I finally figured it out after many, many installs...

    Installation for PC using magic.iso


    1) Load first image and Run pc installer and install software on disc 1

    •location of library c:\program files(x86)\Synthogy\Ivory\Ivory Items
    •location of plugins (vst/rtas) default c:\program files(x86)\vstplugins

    2) Because installer cannot install library from mounted cd, it will run 'Ivory Library Tools' and tries to find library just cancel/Quit from that. I used 'unlocker software' to end process.

    3) Copy contents from folder "ivory items" to c:\program files(x86)\Synthogy\Ivory\, and do it all the same for every single image (10 total)

    4) After finished step 3, delete all files from c:\ivory items i.e Documentation + Presets + Tools

    5) Install 1.63 update and it will install new plugins and new Library tool to that destination c:\program files(x86)\Synthogy\Ivory\Ivory Items

    6) Run library tool (it's located at c:\program files(x86)\Synthogy\Ivory\Ivory Items\tools\Ivory Library Tool.exe and run option check - verify and then convert.

    •it will take time to convert from mac images to win supported image (approx 30mins - 1 hr)


    7) when finished Then install 1.64. Enjoy.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - [HOWTO] Instaling Synthogy Forum Date
[HOWTO] VSL Performance Tool + G-player on Windows 7 x64 Software Reviews and Tutorials Apr 19, 2014
Anyone else problems instaling hofa superbundle r2r? Software Apr 29, 2017
Loading...