How to switch between e.g. clean and distortion by just switching the pickups using amp sims

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by Momchil Uzunov, Nov 16, 2020.

  1. Momchil Uzunov

    Momchil Uzunov Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi! I saw a video the other day and the guy was switching between clean and distortion just by switching his pickup position. How do I do that?
     
  2.  
  3. Strat4ever

    Strat4ever Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    69
    Was he using Blue Cat's Re-Guitar, logically if you switch from a hot humbucker pickup to a P90, Rickenbacker, Gretsch or Strat, weaker pickups it should give you that type of results. Other than that I can't help without seeing the video. What is the video's web address, because there are other guitar modeling programs but we have to see it.
     
  4. refix

    refix Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2018
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    97
    there are probably a few possibilities. assuming the video is a legit live feed of the guitar, it is probably some sort of active circuitry or high gain pickup.
     
  5. Momchil Uzunov

    Momchil Uzunov Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0

     
  6. Strat4ever

    Strat4ever Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    69
    All i saw was him changing the volume level on the guitar
    , which will decrease the distortion somewhat, but you will notice the sound was not completely clean when he lowered the volume. also he is using a Distortion pedal that he's switching on with his foot which you can't see in the clip, but at the end he turned off the distortion pedal for the final few notes. If he played the music track a lot lower it would let us hear all of his guitar's sound much better, it's just too jumbled together to really hear everything clearly. No magic here, you can do the same. In the header for your post you asked if it is possible with amp sims, the answer is absolutely yes, try Blue Cat's bundle, Native instruments Guitar Rig, IK Multimedia Amplitube, or my favorites Positive Grid Amp and Bias FX2, there are a lot of others out there just find the one that you like best
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2020
  7. Momchil Uzunov

    Momchil Uzunov Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you
     
  8. Smoove Grooves

    Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2019
    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    Speak for yourself.
    Probably.
     
  9. Strat4ever

    Strat4ever Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2019
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    69
    If you need help then this is the right place there are many guitarists on here so you will surely find a response to your questions.
    I just rewatched the video on youtube and right in the desription it says he's using Guitar Rig 5 which has lots of FX pedals and you can use it with an outboard switching pedal
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2020
Loading...
Loading...