How to set levels for different instruments in mixing?

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by abhinavjoshua, May 31, 2014.

1. abhinavjoshua

abhinavjoshua Noisemaker

I am new to mixing, so please bear with my explanation! *yes*

I have a question in mind related to gain staging and I can't find my answer. I have also seen many mixing videos and tutorials but still can't find my answer! :wow:

As a rule of thumb while mixing, the master output track should not go beyond -6dB (or maybe dBFS :dunno: ) on the meter. So while setting up the gain for different instruments, the gain automatically increases as I start to gain stage every instrument. For E.g. - If I am only gain staging drums, setting it accordingly so that the ouput of the drum mix is not going beyond -6dB and add another instrument (say bass) then what should I do to prevent the master output track to go beyond -6dB? (because when I'll add bass, it will definitely increase the gain.

And as I tend to add another instruments one by one, the gain will increase definitely and go beyond -6dB. So my question is:

HOW DO I SET DIFFERENT LEVELS FOR INSTRUMENTS SO THAT THE MASTER TRACK SHOULD NOT GO BEYOND -6dB?

Sorry I may sound noob, but I can't get through this! :snuffy:

3. Catalyst

Catalyst Audiosexual

Depends on what you're building your mix around and what needs to be most prominent. Some mix off of the kick, some off of the snare, bass, etc. In any case I like peaks at -10db on the most prominent element or the focus of the track and build the rest of the elements around that. That way you leave yourself ample headroom.

4. copylefter

copylefter Producer

Yeah, kick @ -10 is a good starting point for electronic for example.
    If you're not sure wether you're leaving enough headroom for the other instruments,
    you can group or buss the drums for example, so if you usually start to mix from the drums like me,
    you can then lower the whole drum group if you need more headroom.