How to record a guitar without or less squeaks?

Discussion in 'Instruments' started by ed-enam, Mar 11, 2017.

1. ed-enam

ed-enam Rock Star

A very beginner question I guess but I am a beginner at recording.

So, I have a Fender CD 60E BLK electro acoustic guitar with built in Fishman pre-amp. I know first thing is to be a better player (I am average) but what other technique(s) are used to reduce the squeaks during playing and after recording (plugins, etc)? Below is the guitar demo from Fender.

Thanks.

3. Infidel

Infidel Producer

use Fret Ease or some other brand of lubricant made for guitar strings.

• Like Like x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. Cudo

Cudo Kapellmeister

It sounded pretty good to me, but you could try facing the mic away from the neck and more towards the body. Sqeaks and bumps are included in sample libs to make them sound more realistic. Don't worry it's a good performance ! :)

• Like Like x 3
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  5. studio5599

studio5599 Producer

strings are key ! are you using mediums? if so downgrade to light or ultra

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  6. PopstarKiller

PopstarKiller Platinum Record

New strings. I find that I get the worst, loudest squeaks with old strings.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 2
    • List
  7. Pinkman

Pinkman Audiosexual

Lift your fingers unless you need to slide. You don't even have to lift off the string completely, the less pressure applied the less noise. Be careful not to substitute unwanted slide noise for unwanted pull-offs.
    I guess you could use a side-chained EQ but I hate remove frequencies from acoustic sounds. I'd rather use iZotope RX5 on the recorded audio.

Last edited: Mar 12, 2017
    • Like Like x 4
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  8. Kloud

Kloud Guest

You can't eliminate it totally. It isn't possible. :no: