How to properly use a reference track (tutorial suggestions /tips)

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by shinyzen, Feb 9, 2024.

1. shinyzen

shinyzen Platinum Record

Hi! ive been mixing for years now, including many songs that have been placed. However, ive never used a reference track, and feel like i should be. I know my mixes sound good, but i think they could improve. I understand the basic concept of using a reference track, checking where the drums sit compared to bass etc, but are there any other tips anyone can recommend? Any tutorials to watch? Advanced reference techniques using AI stem seperation? etc etc.

Assume im brand new to mixing, and i know nothing about using a reference. Any tips greatly appreciated !! tagging @Stevie Dude cuz he's always bringing excellent insight and ideas.

3. DontKnowJack

DontKnowJack Producer

Your post reminded me that there is a method being taught where you split a reference track into isolated instruments using AI then EQ match them with your corresponding busses to get a finished product that now sounds as high quality as the original reference track. Sounds like it could work to get beginners in the ballpark quickly but would likely still require some additional processing to actually get it sounding "finished".

4. Stevie Dude

Stevie Dude Audiosexual