How to make this sound on Access Virus? OSC1 & OSC2 Fine?

Discussion in 'Synthesizers' started by Darth Vader Son, Jan 21, 2022.

  1. Darth Vader Son

    Darth Vader Son Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2021
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Universe
    OSC1 & OSC2 Fine Tune Knob is missing.
    Is there a method to get Oscillator 1 & 2 Cents?

    I mean for example this sound:

    OSC1: Saw
    OSC2: Saw

    OSC1 Fine: -33 Cents
    OSC2 Fine: +33 Cents
     
  2.  
  3. mondomorte

    mondomorte Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2020
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Kebek
    Best Answer
    One solution to this could be to apply the '1% constant' modulator with a -33 / +33 value to osc1 / osc2. I don't remember if this modulator is available on all the Virus models, but it is, at the very least, on the TI2.
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2022
  4. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    750
    you can detune oscillator 2 in cents, but are you sure about osc1? I wasn't planning on turning on it atm, but I will if you want me to check the TI anyway. It's annoying but you can't open the plugin GUI without having the synth powered on and connected. lol

    The DSP56300 emulator also does not have a slider/value for OSC1 detune either. So a workaround like @mondomorte has suggested is probably the best bet, if so. or some look in the end of the manual. This would just depend on your requirement, because they are a few ways around it like Unison Detune in cents.

    Virus Control (main):
    [​IMG]


    DSP56300 showing destination list with no OSC1 detune listed:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2022
  5. Darth Vader Son

    Darth Vader Son Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2021
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Universe
    I think I discovered How :guru:

    You must turn off OSC1 and use OSC2 & OSC3. Set them to Saw and Detune them like positive value for example +16 from the Minimum and on second OSC negative value like for example -16 from the Maximum.

    :dj:
     
  6. Darth Vader Son

    Darth Vader Son Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2021
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Universe

    Yes. It's working too!
    Thanks guys! :wink:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. clone

    clone Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    750
    If you were doing some sort of programming that required a OSC1detune parameter and value for some reason, a workaround might not be a suitable solution. good you got it working :)
     
Loading...
Loading...