How to make that synth ?

Discussion in 'how to make "that" sound' started by Gaius41, Jun 14, 2013.

1. Gaius41

Gaius41 Newbie

Hi, I'd like to know what should I look for to get this synth at 4.25 (the lead melody, not the the synth in the background, well.. actually if you know what it is aswell it would be nice :p, this one is more audible at 7.00)
    I'm very new in the composing world so I'll be also very interested to know what software should I take to have that kind of beats!

I know it's a lot of sounds but it would help me a lot ! Thanks in advance.

3. xsze

xsze Guest

Well you need some virtual software synthesizer to start with in the box, I would recommend you to check out Lennar Digial Sylenth1, it's quality synth, good workhorse and light on CPU, friendly user interface and bunch of 3rd party banks and presets, I think it's most used synth among people.

For actual sound, I think you can get close with square waveform slightly detuned on higher octave(but don't take my word for it try different waveforms), with high pass filter and resonance, of course it just a starting point, you need decent tweaking to get there.

Pick some good synth and learn it pretty good, my advice is to get Syletnth or Zebra or Omnisphere as go to for everything and as quickly as you get your grip around the synthesis and know what you exactly want, to expand your palette of choices.

Choosing synth for job is personal, just find the one you find interesting, comfortable and enough to get results you are aiming for, some people like bmw, some mercedes, it's like that with synths too :wink:

Start with examining the presets, try to recreate them, but get your grip on synthesis ASAP, it's really essential thing to unleash your creativity and personality in your music :wink:

4. SillySausage

SillySausage Producer

Sylenth1 for your synth, and Reaper for your DAW, the following link should help you in learning how a synth works

http://synthstudent.wordpress.com/