How to make instrument and sound like "The Cardigans - Carnival"?

Discussion in 'how to make "that" sound' started by WIMA, Jan 31, 2020.

1. WIMA

WIMA Platinum Record

Hello friends... :shalom:

A few days ago I accidentally heard a song from one of the cafes ...
    Hearing that song brought many memories, especially my childhood ... :grooves:

As a musician, I would love to make music with nuances and sounds like the song "The Cardigans - Carnival" ...
    Even someday I want to cover the song ... :yes:

Because all this time I usually make music and songs of my own that have a modern feel ... I don't have a clue about how to make songs with this vintage sound ...

Maybe there are friends here who have more experience in making vintage songs like this ... I beg for your help ... :bow:

I only rely on VSTi, Kontakt, and the like to make instruments except Electric guitar instruments .... I can Borrow Bass from my friend if must too ... :knock:

Anyway....
    From what I hear, this song uses Drums, Bass, Guitar, Hammond, Rhodes, Strings, Claps, and of course Vocal sounds ... Correct if I'm wrong... :unsure:

First question ... By using VSTi or Kontakt, is there any suggestion what to use for each of these instruments?

So far, I will use :
    Drums = Addictive Drums with vintage setup
    Bass = Modo Bass maybe with Rickenbacker setup ... Or can I borrow the bass from my friend ... :rofl:
    Guitar = My Humbucker 6 String Electric Guitars with vintage setup amp simulator
    Hammond = Kontakt with Sound Dust HamMR Plus
    Rhodes = Addictive Keys with Mark One setup or something that classic
    Strings = Kontakt with EWQL Symphony Orchestra Platinum
    Claps = Batttery 4
    Vocals = Record using Samson C01
    The Second question is ... is the above setup close to the reference (The Cardigans - Carnival)?
    If not, are there any suggestions that are better and closer than my setup?