How to de-click and de-noise only a vocal in a full mix?

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by here287, Sep 29, 2022.

1. here287

here287 Noisemaker

Hello!

I have a mix that I have to master, but there's a problem; the vocal has click sounds. I want to remove those click sounds, and also perform de-noise, but only on vocal, not on the full mix. Is it possible?

Going back to mixing phase is not possible.

If possible, please also suggest how I can do restoration of a full mix, in case above-mentioned task is not possible to perform.

I want to learn the art of digital restoration, be it for a full mix, or a single element like vocal, guitar or any other sound.

Thanks for reading!

3. Trurl

Trurl Audiosexual

No guarantees, but RX10 Mouth De-click might possibly work even with the vocal mixed. The noise will be unlikely to be anything you can fix without wrecking the whole thing but again RX has some tools you can try. There's also ACON and some other high end stuff but I have no experience with that.

4. terrific!

terrific! Guest

As Trurl said or get out your arsenal of utility plugins and a magnifying glass and prepare for a, depending what and on how many issues, long and tedious process of manually editing, processing and automating the issues away. Are the "clicks" IN the actual vocal sound or like in between words like recording start/stop points? I guess they'd still be in the music if its a busy mix, but might be a little less obvious to needlepoint clean those up using EQ or something. Its really difficult to say without hearing the issues.

5. here287

here287 Noisemaker

Clicks are throughout the vocal. In between + whenever the vocalist performs. :(

6. here287

here287 Noisemaker

I don't know much about restoration.

I will try mouth declick.

7. clone

clone Audiosexual