How to Change Native Instruments default VST folder

Discussion in 'PC' started by au38wzh, Mar 17, 2014.

  1. au38wzh

    au38wzh Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    152
    Most (all?) NI products have to be installed in the default installation folder, right?

    Means: I can change the installation path, but it changes back to the default path.
    So, the main programms and the vst's (dll's) has to be installed in the given path by the installer.
    Afterwards I move the VST (dll) in my VST folder on a different partition.

    Is it only for me or can someone install NI products (not just the dll's) somewhere else than on the system partition?
    Asking, coz my system partition is a bit small, so it would be good for me to change the application path.
    I'm on PC, Win8.1-64bit (it was the same with Win7-64bit), if it matters.

    Thanks!
     
  2.  
  3. nikon

    nikon Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    168
    I think is intended to be a system partition like other software too.
     
  4. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    2,197
    Location:
    The darkest pit of my mind
    Not really true, but you have to know how to use RegEdit to edit the paths for all the plugins you want to change their location. I do that regularly for years now and only an odd instrument here and there can't really be installed on some other partition then the OS partition.

    Here's an example of how I edited paths in the registry for Battery 3.

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Native Instruments\Battery 3]
    "InstallVSTDIR"="C:\\Programs\\Audio\\VST"
    "InstallDir"="D:\\Samples\\Battery"
    "ContentDir"="D:\\Samples\\Battery\\"

    For me it's a piece of cake to edit this, boring and tedious actually... but you might find it too complicated, I don't know how much you know about the Windows OS. This is the way how to control the path and installation of many programs and plugins as all you need is edit the keys that are usually under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE or HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE I'm sure that this will help someone, though. I routinely install programs in VirtualBox OS then copy all the necessary files to my real OS and export all the registry entries of the particular program and edit them to my liking. I honestly can't remember when was the last time I installed anything in my real OS. Every installation in Windows makes loads of unnecessary registry entries and you should avoid bloating the registry if you plan on using your OS for a long time and keep it working as smoothly as on the day when you installed it. Cleaning the registry with CCleaner [Crap Cleaner] is also a good way of maintaining the registry small, but it can only help so much.

    Cheers!
     
  5. nikon

    nikon Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2012
    Messages:
    954
    Likes Received:
    168
    Yes, but he ask for complete installation of program data, so then you can install battery to partition d:

    d:\battery\program files\
    d:\battery\data\
    etc...

    I think there is no problem and maybe it works, but is dedicated to be installed on system partition in program files.

    If installer ask for main program files path then you can for sure...
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Change Native Instruments Forum Date
Change mono to poly... Kontakt Thursday at 10:42 AM
Omnisphere startup patch change Omnisphere Sep 5, 2020
Change is the only constant Our Art Sep 5, 2020
Xfer Serum v1.3.0b6 Changelog? Software Sep 4, 2020
Which Song Made you Drop Everything and influenced a Change to your Life! Music Aug 26, 2020
Loading...