How to adjust vocal timing in cubase pro ?

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by vpmitchell, Feb 1, 2017.

1. vpmitchell

vpmitchell Noisemaker

Hey guys,

Im about to mix a bunch of songs done by a singer friend of mine. He's a great friend, but terrible singer ( and he knows it ) and his rytmic timing is way off on almost every track. What would be the best way to adjust his rythmic timing in Cubase 8.5 pro ? I could edit each single part individually but that would be really long. Im new in Cubase pro so maybe im missing something.

Thanks in advance for your help!

VP

3. covaloid

covaloid Ultrasonic

Just double click on the waveform, select audio warp, and click free warp, then just start clicking and dragging to fix the timing.

You could also try singing the part correctly yourself if you want then use some plugin like Synchro Arts Revoice Pro to synchronize your friends voice to yours; assuming you can sing better than him.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  4. vpmitchell

vpmitchell Noisemaker

Haha...that is one big assumption ;) i do sing better than him. But thats a long process...ill go with the Audio Warp tool. Is this something like the Ableton Live Warp function? Where you just move the cursors arouns to match the groove you want? Im not in front of my computer right now, but ill check it out and see later on. Thanks for your input Covaloid!

5. Cav Emp

Cav Emp Audiosexual

If his timing is as bad as you say, warping might start to degrade the sound a bit. Cubase really good warping. Easily the best out of the three or four DAWs I've spent any serious time in, but IMO you can really only expect 100-500 milliseconds out of a warping algorithm before things start to fall apart.