How to add Kontakt Instr. to the 'Libraries' area?

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by chumbo, Jul 19, 2020.

1. chumbo

chumbo Ultrasonic

Hi,
    I'm new to Kontakt. I'm running the portable v6.31 and am trying to add libraries to the 'Libraries' area on the left of the GUI so I can easily load them at a later date when needed.
    I wasn't able to load the library (Handheld Sound MAD v1.0) via the standard 'Manage Libraries' button as it stated not finding any library despite pointing to the folder where was the .nki.

So I then just went to the 'Files' tab and double-clicked the .nki and that opened the library but it still won't show up in the left panel 'Libraries'. Any ideas?
    Thanks for helping a newbie! :like:

3. Windows95

Windows95 Member

You have to add libraries by registering them with their serial as of Kontakt 6+.

What you can do as a workaround, is to download the old Kontakt 5 Player and load libraries from there. They will show up in Kontakt 6 as well.

Create an account on the Native site and go here:
    https://www.native-instruments.com/en/support/downloads/drivers-other-files/

Scroll down to the Legacy Products section (it's a long way down) and download the Kontakt 5 Player.

After that, go here:
    https://www.native-instruments.com/en/support/downloads/update-manager/?q=Kontakt&t=updates

...and download the Kontakt Player 5 Update.

After installing, add your libary as you would from "Manage Libraries", exit Kontakt 5. Load up Kontakt 6. If the new library is there, you've done good. Enjoy.

4. Smoove Grooves

Smoove Grooves Audiosexual

No, no. :deep_facepalm:
    Kontakt 5 is only needed on Mac as an Add Library workaround.

Handheld Sound MAD is a third party library and as such has no .nicnt file, which devs pay NI for the license to appear in the Lib Tab.

If, perchance, the lib is not loading properly, the fault is sometimes that the .xml file that is created has an SNPID# of <000>, instead of what is written in the .nicnt.