How do you create beats - workflow

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by farao, Sep 11, 2019.

  1. farao

    farao Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    360
    What is your workflow for creating beats (drums + percussion)?
     
  2.  
  3. rhythmatist

    rhythmatist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    734
    Location:
    Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
    Sit behind my vintage Rogers, Zildjian, Paiste, and Sabians with a big pair of Vic Firth sticks, hit record- jam. save. listen, edit. Drum machine for a fancy metrome.:drummer::drummer::drummer::drummer::drummer::drummer::grooves::speaker::hahaha:
     
  4. Fudsey Plange

    Fudsey Plange Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    1,132
    Location:
    Fuqnose
    [​IMG]

    Thump thump innit.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  5. rudolph

    rudolph Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    200
    Yeah but you make music man, not that nasty childish beats.
     
  6. MYCbeats

    MYCbeats Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Toronto
    I really should explain this with a flow diagram but I’m on my phone.

    Since I always I start with melodic parts, I have to decide how I want the drums to sound - if it’s a drum break then browse through loops maybe chop up a bit.

    If it’s fully programmed drums, I open Atlas from my template and find one of my maps that I think would suit it then I randomize till I find something I like. (Atlas imho is the greatest plugin made in the last 2 years)

    Next I have 3 options to capture a part. I can write the midi via touch screen, play it via drum pads, or step sequence via my Trigger Finger Pro.

    Note that my template is set up so that no matter which way I record it, it always comes up as multitrack midi events, all tracks feed into their respective SampleOne XT as well as Atlas.

    Once everything is recorded, I may decide to flick through some sounds on atlas.

    Once the sample choices are finalized I drag the samples from Atlas to the respective SampleOne XT instance where the name and output is already set and mute Atlas from then on. The reason I change samplers is that Studio One’s native samplers copy files to the project folder so nothing ever gets lost.
     
  7. farao

    farao Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    360
    Awesome!
     
  8. Rainy Keys

    Rainy Keys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I just play whatever I feel. Music for me is painting a picture of whatever I'm feeling for your ears to see.
     
  9. farao

    farao Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    360
    Yes, ok, but you have to go about it in some way, this thread asks you to describe that.
     
  10. ryck

    ryck Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    42
    Im used diferent ways. But better for me is this.
    I put any ritmic .
    Then record bass and guitar. Then i sing.
    When i have all i try the drums or ritmic works whit instruments
     
  11. Rainy Keys

    Rainy Keys Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    You are correct

    I pick the sounds first. Synth, leads, piano etc. Onice I find the sounds I want to use I play something and keep building one it. Then I add bass then I add the drums. The Platinum hit is then complete lol :0)
     
  12. Cav Emp

    Cav Emp Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,012
    Likes Received:
    1,649
    Push 2 + lay out a drum rack in a pattern where the essential drums are in a position that is familiar for me + play around until I get something I like (live 10’s capture feature is so handy for this) + sequence hats and other percussion.

    Honestly Push 2’s drum rack workflow is A++. I’ve started to like playing keys more than Push now that I’m getting better with keyboard, but I don’t think anything beats it for drums
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - create beats workflow Forum Date
I have Mojave. Can i create a bootable High sierra install without losing all my plug ins? Mac / Hackintosh Today at 10:18 AM
How to recreate this bass sound with soft synth. how to make "that" sound Wednesday at 4:38 PM
Software to create Music Pro Videos Software Monday at 12:12 PM
How to recreate this 'melodic chillwave' sound how to make "that" sound Sep 30, 2019
Learn how to create your own VST plugins at the Audio Dev Academy - website beta live now! Education Sep 4, 2019
Loading...