How do you create beats - workflow

Discussion in 'Working with Sound' started by farao, Sep 11, 2019.

  1. farao

    farao Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    386
    What is your workflow for creating beats (drums + percussion)?
     
  2.  
  3. rhythmatist

    rhythmatist Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    743
    Location:
    Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
    Sit behind my vintage Rogers, Zildjian, Paiste, and Sabians with a big pair of Vic Firth sticks, hit record- jam. save. listen, edit. Drum machine for a fancy metrome.:drummer::drummer::drummer::drummer::drummer::drummer::grooves::speaker::hahaha:
     
  4. [​IMG]

    Thump thump innit.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  5. rudolph

    rudolph Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    239
    Yeah but you make music man, not that nasty childish beats.
     
  6. MYCbeats

    MYCbeats Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    Toronto
    I really should explain this with a flow diagram but I’m on my phone.

    Since I always I start with melodic parts, I have to decide how I want the drums to sound - if it’s a drum break then browse through loops maybe chop up a bit.

    If it’s fully programmed drums, I open Atlas from my template and find one of my maps that I think would suit it then I randomize till I find something I like. (Atlas imho is the greatest plugin made in the last 2 years)

    Next I have 3 options to capture a part. I can write the midi via touch screen, play it via drum pads, or step sequence via my Trigger Finger Pro.

    Note that my template is set up so that no matter which way I record it, it always comes up as multitrack midi events, all tracks feed into their respective SampleOne XT as well as Atlas.

    Once everything is recorded, I may decide to flick through some sounds on atlas.

    Once the sample choices are finalized I drag the samples from Atlas to the respective SampleOne XT instance where the name and output is already set and mute Atlas from then on. The reason I change samplers is that Studio One’s native samplers copy files to the project folder so nothing ever gets lost.
     
  7. farao

    farao Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    386
    Awesome!
     
  8. Rainy Keys

    Rainy Keys Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    I just play whatever I feel. Music for me is painting a picture of whatever I'm feeling for your ears to see.
     
  9. farao

    farao Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    386
    Yes, ok, but you have to go about it in some way, this thread asks you to describe that.
     
  10. ryck

    ryck Guest

    Im used diferent ways. But better for me is this.
    I put any ritmic .
    Then record bass and guitar. Then i sing.
    When i have all i try the drums or ritmic works whit instruments
     
  11. Rainy Keys

    Rainy Keys Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    You are correct

    I pick the sounds first. Synth, leads, piano etc. Onice I find the sounds I want to use I play something and keep building one it. Then I add bass then I add the drums. The Platinum hit is then complete lol :0)
     
  12. Cav Emp

    Cav Emp Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    Messages:
    2,042
    Likes Received:
    1,678
    Push 2 + lay out a drum rack in a pattern where the essential drums are in a position that is familiar for me + play around until I get something I like (live 10’s capture feature is so handy for this) + sequence hats and other percussion.

    Honestly Push 2’s drum rack workflow is A++. I’ve started to like playing keys more than Push now that I’m getting better with keyboard, but I don’t think anything beats it for drums
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - create beats workflow Forum Date
What's your favorite software to create beats? Software Jan 17, 2020
How to recreate the bass arpeggio at the very start? Working with Sound Saturday at 8:38 PM
[POLL] About to create a big midi controller, which VST should I choose Soundgear Friday at 12:04 PM
Anyone tried to recreated this bass line? how to make "that" sound Wednesday at 7:13 AM
Alex Tumays Recreated ProTools Vocal Chain Template with details and comments Pro Tools May 20, 2020
Loading...