How can I get from A to B , In this circumstance ?

Discussion in 'Mixing and Mastering' started by bymastermind, Apr 24, 2015.

1. bymastermind

bymastermind Newbie

Hello to all who have taken the time to read this post.

I'm a music producer, I use FL 11 but have experience with most daw's, such as Logic, Reason & pro tools. I make a lot of Bass heavy music with light and heavy synths ranging from hip hop trap to house and grime.
    I use yamaha hs80 Monitors to mix my music, But I have trouble keeping things consistent as I tend to use such a wide range of sounds.
    I got alot of experience mixing using a terrible hi fi, With the mind set of get it sounding as good as possible.
    Since then ive been fortunate and have upgraded to better equipment, but over time I have reverted back to windows and now I dont have the previous hifi.
    my yamaha hs80s are superb for listening but i find they are too clear and I find it hard to get in depth and accurate to the sound I was able to get through the poor speakers.

I have used this forum and audioz for a few years quietly, reading but not speaking so thought I may aswell post something, & finally start interacting.
    I now have a lot of opportunity's music wise to get my music in places and potential to work with some really good artists, But my mixes are each lacking something,
    wether it be a bad kick / bass in one mix, or tinny synths in another, and even if this doesnt happen the mix as a whole just isnt quite what im looking for

I may just be comparing my raw songs to too many full mixed tracks as reference, but when i listen to my old songs they really knock the speakers compared to my new stuff.
    I guess i am either looking for someone who may be willing to take a look at my music and work with me in terms of a mix engineer in return for a share of my opportunity's etc.

Also some pointers for where maybe to look or start.