High CPU Spikes LPX 10.4.8..

Discussion in 'Logic' started by Zapa, Mar 25, 2020.

  1. Zapa

    Zapa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi much appreciated if anyone can help me. Ive recently upgraded LPX to 10.4.8 and get random CPU (sometimes single core) spikes in session which result in an unpleasant crunching, distorted noise, no matter what my audio buffer settings are set to. sometime new projects with only one instance of eg maschine 2, arcade, serum etc or some other more intensive projects. Im running on Mojave (Unsure whether to upgrade to catalina based on stability as i use mix of k'd and legit) if i cant sort the issue out, does anyone know a more stable version of logic i could roll back to.

    Im running on Imac 5k 17,1 4.ghz i7 quad with 32gb ram.

    With Focusrite Clarrett 4pre interface.
     
  2.  
  3. Zapa

    Zapa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone help please?
     
  4. kmcetal

    kmcetal Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    FWIW, I have a similar Mac setup (iMac), although I don’t use lpx, instead I’m running Cubase 10. I also get random real-time peaks that interrupt audio, very unpredictable, sometimes only one peak per session! I have been trying to solve this for months. Figured it was a Cubase problem, but maybe not? I am using all legit plugs and software, but have used a few cracked plugs before. I’m running motu 1248 interface through thunderbolt2.

    sorry I can’t solve your problem with lpx, but perhaps there are underlying issues. Graphics card issue maybe? Who knows...

    BTW tried without Wi-Fi, still happens, no antivirus or firewall, tried changing everything I could think of. I do use Bluetooth for mouse and keyboard, but can’t change that. Unplugged usb, still happens...
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2020
  5. fiction

    fiction Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    449
    Which MacOS version?
    Crackling also with WiFi and BlueTooth off?
    Tried disconnecting all external USB drives?
     
  6. Zapa

    Zapa Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hey thanks for reply. Tried no WIFI but my trackpad is bluetooth so haven't tried that unfortunately. But its intermittently the same. I thought maybe gui or graphics card may be the issue. Which is AMD r9 m395x 4gb and Os is 10.14.6. Changed buffer setting and project sample rates but i still get issues.
     
  7. fiction

    fiction Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    449
    What if you disconnect your audio interface completely and use the internal audio only?
     
  8. 6ixcore

    6ixcore Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    40
    Try to go Logic>preferences>audio then on audio preferences panel change Processing Threads to "Automatic" and Multithreading to "Playback Tracks" only, apply changes and see if it runs better?

    Also, If you got a heavy project with many soft instruments try to hit play after selecting an audio track (in logic when hitting play and one has a instrument track selected uses more resources to be able to play/rec midi).

    PS - do yourself a favor and dont upgrade to Catalina unless you looking to troubleshoot instead of creating.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2020
  9. taxi driver

    taxi driver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Not up, not down. Sideways.
    I have the same iMac specs running LPX 10.4.8 and I have to agree it's not handling large projects well. I have to freeze everything and that's with a lot of outboard DSP plugins offloaded to my UA Apollo Quad and an Octo Satellite. I hope there's a fix in the next point update.
    Update: Just came across a thread which identified the same issue. One solution which I would never have thought of for CPU energy saving is to set your monitor to generic RGB. Logics GUI is working harder to color correct if you have a different profile. I also added a 10.4.7 to my app folder and loaded a big project that was giving me problems in 10.4.8 and it did run smoother.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2020
Loading...
Similar Threads - High Spikes Forum Date
What´s your Favorit Low Level Modular Synth and High Level Modular Synth Software Friday at 6:26 PM
Low Cut sucks, High Cut rocks humor Monday at 3:39 PM
[Track] A Fast High Music Releases Mar 29, 2020
Omnisphere 2 [Mac OS High Sierra] fails to load sounds Software Mar 25, 2020
Omnisphere 2 Problem with crack on MacOs High Sierra 10.13.6 Software Mar 22, 2020
Loading...