Help with Toontrack Superior Drummer & Expansion install

Discussion in 'Software' started by chumbo, Oct 26, 2021.

  1. chumbo

    chumbo Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    26
    I installed Superior Drummer only, without it's +-200Gb library because I'm perfectly happy with the smaller EZDrummer libraries.
    I then installed an EZX expansion pack ('In The Pocket') and it didn't give an option where to install it so I let it do it's thing, located the library and before even starting SD, I moved it to my preferred location.
    I then pointed Superior Drummer to that location but it says that no library was found!?
    What am I doing wrong?
    I have a vague memory from a while back that it was necessary to FIRST install EZD and THEN SD...could that be it? Is that still true today?
    Thanks!
     
  2.  
  3. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6,922
    Likes Received:
    4,998
    Of course you don't have to install the complete 230GB if you don't want or can't. A sufficient "normal" Installation could e.g. download 1 + 2 + 3 + 7 without additional “surround channels” and “bleed”, i.e. approx. 87GB.

    [​IMG]

    www.toontrack.com/product/superior-drummer-3/
     
  4. chumbo

    chumbo Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    26
    Don't mean to be rude but that's not what I'm looking to do. I have EZX libraries I really like and want to use those, not any part of the original SD library (I'd still probably be faced with the same problem of moving those SD libraries as in my OP so...the problem remains)

    If you think you can help with the problem I laid out in my initial post, I'd glad to hear it! :wink:
     
  5. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6,922
    Likes Received:
    4,998
    In order to be able to use the software, you have to complete the installation using the install DVDs.
     
  6. Dave_Music

    Dave_Music Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    125
    chumbo -
    Yes, I have installed both SD3 & EZDrummer (along with expansions for both) and as far as I know - Yes, to use EZDrummer Expansions in SD3 you do need to install EZDrummer. SD3 & EZDrummer share a Midi folder and the install path of EZDrummer and EZDrummers Expansions are used in SD3 to find the Expansion Libraries.
    I personally would just install EZDrummer anyway but some clever person might be able to point you in a way to bypass the installation of EZDrummer (if you really dont want it installed). There is a page in the settings of SD3 for adding SD3 Library paths (which you might want to look at further) but as I remember it doesnt allow for mapping EZDrummer Libraries, Just SD3 Libraries as I think it just takes the install directry of EZDrummer as Default for those libraries.
    Also, If you, as you say, Have a preferred location, you could try installing your desired libraries again but this time to that location, instead of moving them after installation.
     
  7. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    981
    Location:
    Share many
    It would be easier to do it step by step as @Dave_Music suggested.

    After everything is installed and runs perfectly and if you want to move it its a good idea to let the paths where the installers can find them and place symbolic links to a directory you want them to reside.
    At least it's the way I do it:
    1. Install EzDrummer + kits + Midi
    2. Install SD
    3. Install kits (or not)
    4. Move files as I like and place symbolic links (utility: Hardlink Shell Extension*) to the original position

    Gernerally speaking I found it easier to place symbolic links instead other than the standard paths of the Applications because most of the time the installers are hardcoded and won't find my " path of choice" when I install a new version or extensions.
    The advantage is that I'm able to place programs and data on different physical drives and don't need to install huge amounts of data everytime I need to reinstall an app may it be on the same computer or on another one. And Backup is quicker and easier.


    * https://schinagl.priv.at/nt/hardlinkshellext/linkshellextension.html
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2021
  8. Mbehrad

    Mbehrad Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guys
    Please Help me
    I succesfully path all my libraries without any problem but when i downloaded the second section Room Mics , it wasnt recognized by SD3 as a sound library and installer doesnt work properly neither with :couldnt read config file, So i decided to copy Sound Folder which means Obw files to destination folders it adds something to SD3 but these folder was 17 Gb not the 46 gb which i downloaded. Cant anybody show me the content of their downloaded folder to see if i missed anything or help me to solve this issue. Thanks a lot
     
  9. Curly123456

    Curly123456 Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2019
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yes, I have no idea how to install any of the other libraries. SD3 doesn't recognize them.
     
  10. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    6,922
    Likes Received:
    4,998
    It looks like your download is faulty, please download it all again. And repeat the installation.
     
  11. Xupito

    Xupito Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    5,995
    Likes Received:
    3,250
    Location:
    Europe
    This might be related to the entries EZD writes in the registry related to paths. Since I use no installs versions I know the gist of it, though I still installed EZD first. These are the entries I've got in my no install version.
    They're converted so a .cmd file can write them using other than english paths (ie C:\program files). Also, I decided since it's a mess I would put everything but the plugins in the "program data" folder that's gonna be used anyways.
    Code:
    REM ; [EZDRUMMER SUPERIORDRUMMER]
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack" /v "Access" /t REG_BINARY /d "01" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\EZdrummer2" /v "HostPath64" /t REG_SZ /d "%PROGRAMDATA%\Toontrack\EzDrummer" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\EZdrummer2" /v "InstallPath64" /t REG_SZ /d "%PROGRAMDATA%\Toontrack\EzDrummer" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\EZdrummer2" /v "PlugPath64" /t REG_SZ /d "%PROGRAMFILES%\VSTPlugins\Toontrack" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\EZdrummer2" /v "SDIVersion" /t REG_SZ /d "2.1.8" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\EZdrummer2" /v "SoundPath" /t REG_SZ /d "%PROGRAMDATA%\Toontrack\EzDrummer" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\Superior3" /v "HostPath64" /t REG_SZ /d "%PROGRAMDATA%\Toontrack\Superior Drummer 3" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\Superior3" /v "InstallPath64" /t REG_SZ /d "%PROGRAMDATA%\Toontrack\Superior Drummer 3" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\Superior3" /v "PlugPath64" /t REG_SZ /d "%PROGRAMFILES%\VSTPlugins\Toontrack" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\Superior3" /v "ResourcePath" /t REG_SZ /d "%PROGRAMDATA%\Toontrack\Superior Drummer 3" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\Superior3" /v "SDIVersion" /t REG_SZ /d "3.2.3" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\Superior\EZDrummer" /v "HomePath" /t REG_SZ /d "%PROGRAMDATA%\Toontrack\EzDrummer" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\Superior\EZDrummer" /v "PlugPath64" /t REG_SZ /d "%PROGRAMFILES%\VSTPlugins\Toontrack" /f >Nul
    Reg.exe add "HKLM\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Toontrack\Superior\EZDrummer" /v "SDIVersion" /t REG_SZ /d "1.5" /f >Nul
    
    Take a look at the last three
     
  12. Keefus82

    Keefus82 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi, I've successfully installed sd3 with all mics and bleed, the full 230gb, but when I've tried to install the add on sdx packs it comes up with an error saying that the libraries need updating and aren't the same version as the main program. How do I get round this?
     
  13. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    981
    Location:
    Share many
    Not all libraries will work with all SDX (Superior Drummer Extensions). SDX for Superior Drummer 2 must be updated for use with Superior Drummer 3.

    You can download a lot of libraries but not all libs are the latest version. So try to find newer versions to use them with the app.

    Over time Toontrack added functionality into Superior drummer. Older Libraries therefore won't work correctly with the newest version of the app.

    1. For Superior drummer 3 you will need at least a directory named "GraphicsV3" in the folder where your Library resides. In this folder all graphics are stored the program needs.
    When there is no "GraphicsV3", SD3 won't work with the library and you must update.

    2. In the root folder of your library you'll find a 21-byte text file called "Aversion". In this file the actual version of your library plus the minimum version auf the Superior Drummer App is named.

    Examples of working lib Aversion combinations (libVersion - AppVersion)

    older libs (SD2+):
    -------------------------------------------------------
    SL-ProgressiveFoundry (1.5.0 - minreq S 2.4.4) *
    SL-Allaire (1.5.0 minreq S 2.4.4) *
    SL-Avatar (1.5.0 minreq S 2.4.4) *

    newer libs (SD3+):
    -------------------------------------------------------
    SL-Orchestral-I + II (1.0.0 - minreq S 3.1.3)
    Hansa Rooms (1.0.0 - minreq S 3.1.7)
    Rock Foundry (1.0.1 - minreq S 3.0.3)

    When you download older (SD2) libraries from the Net you will also need to find an update for the older library to Version 1.5. Otherwise the lib will lack the "GraphicsV3" directory and the App would not work with the lib and bring up the error message you mentioned.

    On the other hand if you find a very new library and your App version is lower than "minreq" you can set "minreq" to your actual App version as a workaround until you got the new App version (cave! save file without extension)



    * Toontrack updated older SD2 Libraries to be usable with SD3 adding the "GraphicsV3" directory plus making the Aversion 1.5 and the minreq S 2.4.4 (This means you can use Superior Drummer 3 or Superior Drummer 2 from version 2.4.4 on. But you won't be able to use Superior drummer 3 when SD2 lib Aversion isn't at least 1.5.0 plus "GraphicsV3" directory present)
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2022
  14. Keefus82

    Keefus82 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    Wow thanks so much, I've got 3.1.3 I believe although I've just downloaded the latest install so if I do that OK and download the latest ones for sd3 (they're mostly the ones I want anyway) I should be good to go? Thanks man and I'll check that graphics directory you mentioned as well. I well remember the amount of fiddling around I did with file paths and folders when I first successfully downloaded it all. That was a couple years ago though so I'll see if I can first of all get a newer version working (will the main library still work, as is, with the newer versions?) and then all being well I will follow your instructions with the libraries. Thanks again!
     
  15. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    981
    Location:
    Share many
    You're welcome.
    It just seems to be complicated, but i really got almost any of the libs working just by knowing how toontrack did the versioning.



    btw 3.2.8 as of 2022-02-02 is the most recent cracked App (and VST) version. Search for it on sister site or p.m. me.
     
  16. Keefus82

    Keefus82 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2022
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think I've sent a pm, it says I've started a new conversation with you anyway...
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Help Toontrack Superior Forum Date
Help with Toontrack EZkeys SD3/EZX Midi error Software May 5, 2020
Toontrack Expansion Help Software Jun 17, 2019
Help with Toontrack R2R keygen (OSX) Software Jul 23, 2018
Steinberg Iconica Ensembles help Software Sunday at 3:12 PM
HELP Unpacking Archives 'Next volume Is required'? Kontakt Saturday at 12:15 AM
Loading...