Help with home theater media center

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by RMorgan, Nov 14, 2017.

1. RMorgan

RMorgan Audiosexual

Hey folks, how are you? I hope you're all having a fine week.

So, I'm planning on building a Home Theater in my new home, which is currently under construction.

I'm planning to set up a projector, connected to a receiver, which then will be connected to a device (android box, tablet, old laptop or something like that) which will access all my movies and music from my office PC via network.

Basically, that's what I'm going to do. Now I need your help because I've never done anything like that before...And there's too many conflicting info on Google.

I'm mostly undecided about which device should I choose to make my projector "smart".

An Android Box is cool, but since I don't have a TV (and won't buy one) I would have to turn on the projector any time I want to access it, let's say, to simply listen to some music. So I guess it's out of the equation.

An Android Tablet seems to be a better option, since it's portable and I could use it anywhere in the house...But is there any way to connect it wirelessly to the projector and stream whatever I want to it, via chromecast or similar device? It seems complicated....I mean, which repositories should I add? Which add-ons are the best? How can I make it look good? etc...

The third option is to use an old laptop or PC. Sure, it's the most rudimentar and less refined option, but it's way more flexible and fool proof, right?

What do you think?

Another thing I haven't decided is which software to use as my media manager.

Most people love Kodi, but I've heard good things about Plex as well...Kodi is way more solid than Plex, as far as I can see, but it's so confusing to set up...You have to add repositories, download stuff from shady sources...It's very complicated.

Any Kodi experts could give me a hand here? I'd really appreciate that.