[Help Wanted] BPM & Time Signature (DAW: Reaper)

Discussion in 'Education' started by Sillytune, Apr 19, 2017.

1. Sillytune

Sillytune Ultrasonic

Hi guys - this's my first post here, though i've lurked sometimes here, but mostly on the sister site.

I'm hoping that someone can help me out with couple of questions that i have.

I'm new to MIDI compositions in general - i'm using MIDI CC Korg Taktile 49, which works perfectly and i'd recommend it to anyone.

However the issue is the following.

When i'm in process of composing music, it's basically plug-in, arm - record, play.
    I'm not sure how other compose, but for me how i think it should work is:
    "let the music come out - plug & play // then fix the errors"

However there's a problem there, which's that i don't instantly know the BPM or the time-signature in which i'm playing.
    How do i figure that out? Especially if i'm composing something that seems to me that varies a bit in tempo & time signature, and especially since that composition is done instantly "out of head"

And more precisely, after i'm done "playing" it, how exactly do i find the BPM & time-signature of said composition?

The reaper itself has a wonky timeline, in which you need to use SWS addons to make sure that the MIDI files do not change in tempo, when you're playing, but i've got that part covered.

The current piece that i'm trying to figure out all of above, is https://www.sendspace.com/file/1p8asl
    Starts at 0:08

Do know that it's shit, but i still want to explore and get better with it, if any of you know how to help me out with this issue i'd be most grateful, thanks in advance.

3. diazz100

diazz100 Noisemaker

4. Sillytune

Sillytune Ultrasonic

Thanks for that, however that was not really the question mate ><

5. diazz100

diazz100 Noisemaker

That was the question? or am i missing something if so please explain your question a little better.

6. diazz100

diazz100 Noisemaker