Help installing FXpansion Geist 2 on macOS Sierra

Discussion in 'Software' started by Bullcount, Feb 15, 2017.

  1. Bullcount

    Bullcount Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi!

    So I just downloaded the R2R release of FXpansion Geist 2 v2.0.6.5 (14,4 MB). I have two problems with it:

    1. When extracting the installer from the "Geist2_2.0.6.5_OSX_Installer.7z" archive, I get this error message:
    "Could not extract the file 'Geist2_2.0.6.5_OSX/Installer/Payload/Binaries/Geist2.vst/Contents/Resources/Metronomes/Blip/Bar.wav from the archive'"

    2. If choose to still press on "Continue" it extracts an installer. And this installer is unopenable. I get the error message:
    "The application “Geist2 Installer” can’t be opened."



    Im also having problems with the Factory Content installers. When trying to open the Factory Content installer I get the error message:
    "Unable to automatically locate the InstallScript.
    This file should normally be located in
    CWD/Installer/InstallScript.fis
    Please find the file required."

    Does anyone have any idea on how to install this thing? Any help would be appreciated!

     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2017
  2. vanhaze

    vanhaze Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    241
    When you see the error " "The application “Geist2 Installer” can’t be opened.",

    Open System Preferences.
    Then , open the section "Security and Privacy"
    Then, you see an option to open the installer anyway.
    Hope this helps !
    Warm regards.


     
  3. Bullcount

    Bullcount Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    The option to 'open installer anyway' does not show up. In the sister site where I downloaded this package someone in the comment section mentioned something about resetting permissions in order to be able to open the installer. But I don't really know how it's done, I tried a Terminal command that I found on Google to reset the permissions on the installer file but that didn't help.

    But thanks for the suggestion!
     
  4. vanhaze

    vanhaze Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    241
    I am sorry for you to hear that ..
    I am clueless at the moment , can't help ya further.
    I hope 4u you get it solved !
     
  5. DjDeViousD

    DjDeViousD Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, I just installed Geist 2 on my 2010 Macbook... there was some issues. I had no problem installing, but the Registration Process was a PAIN. The original package that I downloaded from AudioZ did not have all the components. I had to find a CRACKED FXpansion Geist 2 Authorization Tool. This can use the Serial Generated by the keygen, that you will have to run in a Windows environment (I installed Parallel Desktop, for this sole purpose, but if you have a Windows Machine, you can run the keygen there, but the transferring of Authorization Request Files becomes tedious when transferring from one machine to the other...with Parallel, I just share a resource...but I digress). After closer inspection, it looks like you have a bad 7z file. Redownload from here if you like - http://mac-torrent-download.net/app...x-incl-patched-and-keygen-r2rfactory-content/ I think if you can find the BFG download on the site, it will have the Authorization tool also, I just can't remember where I got mine now.
     
  6. Bullcount

    Bullcount Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thank you! Will try that out when I get home. I'll report back if it worked out or not :)
     
  7. Bullcount

    Bullcount Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    So I downloaded Geist from the link that you sent me. I have the exact same problem with the installer in that torrent. I must be doing something wrong, I just don't know what it is...
     
  8. Bullcount

    Bullcount Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    Best Answer
    Ok, I managed to get the installer working and I now got a functional Geist 2! I had to extract the archives in Windows and then transfer the unarchived files back to the Mac. And the installer just worked after that!

    Big thanks to DjDeViousD for his help!

    And if someone happens to get the same problem as me with installing the factory content, here's the solution for it:

    I had to make a folder named "fxdownloads" on my desktop and place the "Geist2 Factory Installer OSX" file together with its "Installer" folder in the "fxdownloads" folder. Then I gave Read & Write permissions to the installer (Right Click > Get Info > Sharing & Permissions and change the privilege to Read & Write). Now run Terminal and type the following:

    cd Desktop
    xattr -r -d com.apple.quarantine fxdownloads


    And then I had a working installer. Then just repeat the same process for the "Geist Factory Content Installer" with its "Installer" folder and then you can install them both without any problems! :)

    PM if you got a question!
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2017
  9. geemtoil

    geemtoil Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, Billcount! I read your post and i solved that 'unopen' file problem- thanks for your help!
    But unfortunately, i failed crack..
    After installing all 3(Geist 2, Factory, Factoy Content), i opened 'Terminal' and Drag '.fls' file.. but..
    Is it correct way to crack??
    Because after all of these process, finally i opened Geist 2,
    there was a message that 'Geist 2 has been disabled because no serial number bla bla..' crack failed..
    What did i do wrong?? Please check and reply me!!
    thanks!
     
  10. Bullcount

    Bullcount Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    No, that doesn't sound quite right... You do not need to replace any files to crack the software. You need to download and install FXpansion.License.Manager.v2.0.18.WIN.OSX.Incl.Keygen-R2R (from the sister site).

    Then you need to:
    1. Open up Logic (or any other DAW that you're using) and fire up Geist 2.
    2. Open the License Manager.
    3. Generate a serial number with the "Keygen.exe". (You can open this .exe file in OS X with the help of an app called "Keygen APP [dada]" (which can be found and downloaded in TPB).)
    4. Paste the serial number into License Manager.
    5. Generate a request file in License Manager and use it in the keygen to generate a authorization file that can then be pasted in to License Manager.
    6. DONE
     
  11. Uhmokay

    Uhmokay Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0


    Hey Bullcount,

    Can you help me I dont know what I am doing wrong..

    I installed Geist 2 in this order Geist 2, Factory, Factoy Content.
    When I was done installing. I opened logic and inserted Geist 2, which opened up the license manager. I openend the keygen file using "Keygen APP [dada]". I generated a Serial and license manager accepted it. Then I tried to authorise by letting the keygen make an (user).auth file. But every time I add it it takes me back to the screen where license manager asks me which product I want to authorise and Geist 2 remains unauthorised.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  12. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    1,867
    @Uhmokay I'm on Windows but IIRC FXpansion plugins all have to be authorized at the same time. Meaning removing all traces of existing FXpansion plugin authorizations or uninstalling/reinstalling then using the License Manager/keygen to create new auth files for each plugin.
    The License Manager itself is buggy and needs to be closed and reopened before it accepts your authorization.
    Don't forget to backup your custom patches for anything you do uninstall.
     
  13. Uhmokay

    Uhmokay Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey @Pinkman
    Thanks for taking the time to help me out. Unforntualy i did not manage to crack it. I deleted everything and tried to re-install it but the installation file gives me an error, its the same issue that someone stated above.
     
  14. Uhmokay

    Uhmokay Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Pinkman I managed to crack it by downloading the demo of there website + license manager! Was this a smart thing or ins't this safe? it works perfectly but is there like a way for them to see i did this?
     
  15. Pinkman

    Pinkman Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    2,014
    Likes Received:
    1,867
    Firewall all your FXpansion .exes and your DAW or just work offline and you should be fine. I uninstalled the License Manager after I got everything done.
     
  16. Uhmokay

    Uhmokay Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those are some great tips thanks!
     
  17. Tade04

    Tade04 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 15, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0


    Hey

    I have the same problem on Yosemite. Can you please write me the exact text for terminal after: cd Desktop couse it is not working here
     
  18. Bullcount

    Bullcount Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2017
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sorry for my late reply. So I noticed I missed writing an important step here. Right before doing the command make sure that the installer has Read & Write permissions. To do this, right click on the installer and click on "Get Info". And at the bottom of the window that now pops up you can see "Sharing & Permissions" and below that you should see your computer name in this format: "YOURNAME (Me)". Make sure that it says "Read & Write" right next to it. Now do the command in Terminal and the installer should work!
     
  19. 4macsoft

    4macsoft Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    DjDeViousD was the best answer, thank you so much
     
  20. tooloud

    tooloud Guest

    If it’s any consolation, I tried repeatedly and failed with Sierra.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Help installing FXpansion Forum Date
Need Help Installing Studio One 5 Additional Content Crack by R2R Studio One Apr 10, 2021
Need Help Installing Iconica into Halion Sonic SE Samplers, Synthesizers Mar 4, 2021
Need help installing Maschine expansions on pc Maschine Nov 10, 2020
Help please: installing Cinesample's Tina Guo Cello samples in PC PC Nov 3, 2020
HELP : installing Melodyne(Beginner) Mac / Hackintosh Oct 21, 2020
Loading...