HDD Problem (Bad Sectors)

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware' started by Thankful, Jun 8, 2017.

  1. twoheart

    twoheart Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Share many
    Hmm? NTFS or GPT?
    NTFS is a Filesystem, while GPT (GUID partition table) is a form of partitionioning a disk (in contrast to MBR (master boot record)).
    Did you mean MBR vs. GPT?
    Why would partitioning a disk using GPT make a difference when it comes to bad sectors?
     
  2. savadious

    savadious Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    20
    #1 you have already backed up your system
    #2 buy a new hard drive and restore it.
    #3 done

    #4 go to the website of your hard drive and type in the serial number. MANY hard drives have 3+ year warranties. You can get a same-day replacement IF they have a depot near you (Im lucky enuf to live 1 hr from the Western Digital DEPOT - so thats who I stick with and I had to use them more than once)

    OPTIONAL: Get your hard drive from places that allow returns just in case the problem was motherboard and not the alleged bad sectors that your software could not find.
     
  3. fiction

    fiction Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    179
    I'm sure they don't do it for warranty reasons, and to avoid discussions with customer support.

    BTW, MacOSX does it, although it only shows a very reduced summary like
    "S.M.A.R.T. Status: Verified" or
    "S.M.A.R.T. Status: Failing".
     
  4. Sylenth.Will.Fall

    Sylenth.Will.Fall Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    500
    Sorry, the missus was talking to me when i was typing that, yes I did mean that, it wouldn't make any difference to bad sectors, but I was responding to @Herr Durr's problem that time.


    As above, I meant MBR as opposed to NTFS, or GPT with regard to your problem, because drives over 2 TB have a problem being recognised using MBR.

    in which case go and have a look here:-

    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/convert-mbr-to-gpt-disk

    By converting there wont be any data loss.
     
  5. TinCanMix

    TinCanMix Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    12
    I've used Spinrite on my/other's drives for years. Can't recommend it highly enough for testing/rejuvenating/recovering data from drives. It's fun watching it's Dynastat mode rebuild your data (it's a geek thing).Difficult to navigate at first, but you quickly get the hang of it. BUT, it has problems with some large drives and Bios....better to try it out first. I've tried all the low level fix programs and Spinrite is in a world of it's own. I just wish Gibson would update it!!
     
  6. Thankful

    Thankful Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    158
    @savadious, I like the idea of replacing the HDD under warranty.

    I'm grateful for all replies and suggestions so far. BTW, I haven't lost any data, everything runs well until the moment I don't do anything for a few mins, then every window says 'Not Responding', sometimes for just 1 min or 5 minutes, then it's all back to normal. I would love to know why this only happens when the PC is idle. I could be working in software, browsing around, for hours and it won't hang, but if I get into a conversation or the phone rings, it's soon hung, basoically if I stop using the PC for a few minutes, it's hang-man. Why would it only hang when it's idle?
     
  7. Herr Durr

    Herr Durr Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,080
    Likes Received:
    1,213
    Location:
    bora bora
    will do...

    has anyone used DMDE with good results? I can't seem to find much as to how it compares to Spinrite.. but apparently
    it can just do a raw copy.. without all the time trying to recover as Spinrite would do.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  8. fiction

    fiction Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    862
    Likes Received:
    179
    You should really try HDDscan on your isolated hard drive after a fresh power-on of the drive. If the scan ends with a curve without low-drops, you can be sure it's not the HDD. Measuring sector read speed is the only way I know to find such issues; in such cases S.M.A.R.T values have not been really helpful for me, as they usually only show a problem when it's already too late.
    I have successfully isolated areas with bad blocks using HDDscan by creating partitions "around them", not using the bad area anymore.
    Sure, it's a bad hack, but I've been able to use different drives for quite a while after that, although I wouldn't do this if the data on the drive is important. When a drive has started to fail once, it will usually fail again soon.
     
  9. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    796
    When a system is freezing after waking up from standby, that usually means there's problem with hardware, but it could be driver related, too and I don't think it's the HDD. When you have a bad sector you could get crashes, blue screens, or freezing while working on something HD intensive - when the program or OS hits the bad sector.

    It could also be just a faulty driver. Windows 10 is still freshly baked. I would first try updating the BIOS, then updating drivers for everything from the motherboard manufacturer website. Those usually work 100%. Make sure you update the VGA driver, whatever VGA you have, then see what happens.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  10. Sylenth.Will.Fall

    Sylenth.Will.Fall Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    500
    Not something I have used buddy. sorry! Closest thing to recovery software I have used is Tune-up Utilities. that had a file recovery service that worked about 20% of the time, providing you restored to a different drive to the one you wanted to restore from!
     
  11. savadious

    savadious Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    20
    ONLY if its idle for awhile... you can try turning off the sleep modes like this. You can also change some technical stuff in bios S1/S3 states etc. but this pic is nice n ez to follow


    [​IMG]
     
  12. digitaldragon

    digitaldragon Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    435
    @SineWave, exactly why I'm doubting HDD for bad sectors. If the idle time is enough to cause the drive to spin down, and there's an issue with the drive waking back up, that's when I'd start doubting the drive. Disable the HDD spin down and see if the problem persists.
     
  13. Thankful

    Thankful Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    158
    How do I disable the HDD spin down? Read on..

    Maybe my use of the word idle is wrong. The settings are never go to sleep etc., it doesn't go into standby or anything like that, when it's on it stays on. When I say idle I mean I am not doing anything on it so to me it's idle. But the mystery for me remains: when I am not doing anything on it, it hangs, then returns to normal. I can work on it continously for three, four hours or more, heavy CPU work in audio software, Photoshop open at the same time and no slowdowns or hanging; why does it hang when all activity stops? Logically if I'm working for hours on end you would expect it to run into bad sectors, but no, it works normally, except when I stop. Who can figure that one out?
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  14. digitaldragon

    digitaldragon Rock Star

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    435
    Configurable for each drive:

    http://www.thewindowsclub.com/prevent-hard-drive-going-sleep-windows

    Also, it could be related to the clock in the CPU stepping down during non-use, then not stepping back up when you return to using the PC.
    Which would really point me back to BIOS/Chipset type configuration or drivers. Or AHCPI stuff. Don't know enough about your system to really point you in a good direction on that one.
    For troubleshooting/testing, I'd try to locate those settings either in Windows or the Bios and see about disabling things to test and see if there's any change. When testing things like this, change one thing at a time and test, then change it back if testing is inconclusive. You go changing too many things at once, it's easy to get lost.
    It just seems to me to be an idle/wake issue of some kind. Some component/driver not coming back fully awake when it should. Are you running any kind of CPU governing utility? Some motherboards come with one that you can configure.
     
  15. twoheart

    twoheart Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Share many
    Good idea, now as you mentioned it, I remember, I've had a Fujitsu Tablet with an error in Intels Speedstep (leading to degradation in computing power). It was solved by a BIOS update. In the meantime I had to disable speedstep. I think AMD will have a similar technology.
     
  16. twoheart

    twoheart Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    Share many
    sorry, fired twice ;)
     
  17. type2002n

    type2002n Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    30
    Hello.
    Let's leave aside for a moment the opinion of your "tech friend".
    If the system hangs, it can be from the OS. It can be faulty, deteriorated, the registry bloated, etc. Was it recently installed, constantly cared for, the registry cleaned, etc?
    I would recommend fully reinstalling Windows in boot mode. Or, try to clean it with Advanced System Care Pro, first. ASCP is a good tool, scan your system once a month with it, even when not having visible problems.
    Test the HDD with HD Tune Pro (Error Scan with "quick scan" unchecked, it takes around 143 minutes per 1TB) and also check the Health (S.M.A.R.T.) tab for bad or pending sectors (If the CRC error count increases constantly, replace the hdd's data cable - also check the power sata conector, If it is intact and fully inserted). Use HDD Regenerator If necessary. Test the Ram with Memtest 86.
    Good luck solving the problem... and let us know what caused it !
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2017
  18. jkst

    jkst Ultrasonic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2016
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    34
    as others have mentioned, it doesn't sound like a hdd problem. various software (hdd sentinel pro - highly recommended) can read SMART data and precisely detect bad sectors or other issues.

    the obvious step would be a clean system os reinstall, if the problem persists then it surely is hardware.

    but before that try to reset BIOS settings to default with removal of motherboard battery aswell. you said you checked RAM for errors, do you use 1 or more sticks? dual-channel? are they fitted in the corresponding slots (usually 1-3,2-4) if yes try to use just one stick at a time and note if the problem appears. even if the memory sticks are alright they could be incompatibile with the motherboard, keep this in mind also when checking RAM latency settings in BIOS.

    eventually if all else fails just throw the fucker out the window and buy something else.
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Problem (Bad Sectors) Forum Date
Juno 1 problems Instruments Today at 2:28 AM
Problem with Authorizing Omnisphere Software Jun 22, 2017
MASCHINE PROBLEMS Lounge Jun 21, 2017
Kontakt Library Addiction... it's a problem? Kontakt Jun 20, 2017
Omnisphere Steam Folder Problem Mac / Hackintosh Jun 17, 2017
Loading...