have no Kontakt 5 Factory Content tab, how to add it and where does Macosx store it?

Discussion in 'Kontakt' started by mcmaklin, Sep 1, 2013.

1. mcmaklin

mcmaklin Newbie

I have Kontakt 5, have no Kontakt 5 Factory Content tab, how to add it and where does Macosx store it?

thank you

3. mcmaklin

mcmaklin Newbie

I found a folder full of KSD files in HD/Library/Application Support/Native Instruments/Shared Content/ Sounds?Libraries
    How to install it or import manually to appear on the left tab in Kontakt 5?

4. tater_one

tater_one Kapellmeister

Not being a jerk but you are a total noob. That info on getting factory content should be in the NI owner's manual. Read something for once in your life.

If you have warez version of Kontakt. Browse the audioz website and find what you need. Libraries are collections of samples. Download your sample library you want. It should already be organized with the proper folders. You put it anywhere on you hd, then click add library button on Kontakt and browse to the sample library and it will add it.

Libraries for Kontakt have a specific folder structure, so if you can't add it from the add library button, it is not a valid library, it is just a collection of wave files or samples.

Lastly, when you add a library. You are basically adding a .nicnt file or and .info.nkc file. If you don't have either of those types of files in the folder you download, it is not a library. So when you add the library, you have to browse to where these files are to add it. Kontakt libraries have a structure, they must have 2 folders then a .nicnt or .nkc file. So whichever content you download, it should have 2 folders in the same directory named Instruments and Samples. Then in that same directory have a .nicnt or .nkc file. It may have other files too, but it needs at least those to make a library. That is the folder you will add to your library no matter where it is on your hdd.