Hacintosh beyond Mojave?

Discussion in 'Mac / Hackintosh' started by northwinds, Feb 6, 2022.

1. northwinds

northwinds Kapellmeister

Hi all,
    I've been running a Hacintosh for quite a few years now on various different builds and have been very happy with it.
    With with the latest version sof the mac OS written primarily with the M1 chip in mind, is there any likely future for the hacintosh?
    I'm still sitting on Mojave as upgrading a hac is always a pain - how is everyone else doing?
    I'd love to explore new features in the latest version of Logic, but is it worth it?

3. luminosity

luminosity Ultrasonic

Right now im also on Mojave, i will upgrade my pc next month (i9 12900k) and i will go back to Windows.

Not sure but i dont think there is future.
    All that stuff is coded for the m1 and for running those things on a normal cpu its getting "emulated" with rosetta no?

I can also imagein that in a few years OSX only supports fully M* processors?
    Maybe im wrong but thats my guess.

4. jazzzz

jazzzz Platinum Record

I guess Mojave is still far from being obsolete.
    If you use Logic, going back to Windows is not an option.
    If you don't use Logic, which other software/plug-in/driver has exclusive advantage for M1 mac?

5. vuldegger

vuldegger Producer

i was on high sierra for a while, was working perfectly. then i realised how restricted macos is, so i went back to good ole w10

6. notrace

notrace Producer

This seems to be the new direction for Hackintosh! She's supposed to be doing a tutorial on how this is done shortly.

• Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  7. luminosity

luminosity Ultrasonic

WTF, she talks about VM stuff? :D

Sure you can run it like this in the future but you will not get the full performance out of your hardware. Because it is still kinda "emulated" and thats costs more performance. In the "old" why you can make like OSX uses your components nativly.

8. northwinds

northwinds Kapellmeister