Guitar decline/deterioration

Discussion in 'Guitars' started by SwingSwing, Mar 3, 2018.

1. SwingSwing

SwingSwing Member

Hi everyone,

I am not an expert with the guitar, I just taught myself what I know for some years. I hope someone can help me with this:

1) I think I played my acoustic for maybe 10 years now, but not super regularly. Now the frets have developed deep dents really fast. I played only a few times since I discovered (heard the ringing) them and to me they seem much more obvious now, so I stopped playing altogether. Can someone think of a reason why that developed so fast? Or is it natural in the sense that once there is a dent it always gets deeper super fast? I'm not sure but it's possible that I changed the strings before that.

2) Also if I let someone repair the frets, they will grind them so they will lose height, right? Will that stop the process of the dents getting deeper? Because if not and there is another reason for that I would have to find that first.

3) I now got my first electric guitar (good thing because this way it's easier for me to pause the acoustic guitar) and I discovered that how hard I press on the strings between the frets has an impact on the string frequency (pressing harder makes the tone higher, like bending). I never noticed that with the acoustic guitar - is that something special to electric guitars. Maybe it's just that the frets are higher... So is it normal having to adjust the finger-pressure when changing to electric guitar?

4) I notice on the tuning-monitor when I tune the open strings perfectly that the tones on the higher frets are slightly too high. Is there an issue with the nut that I should take care off? I mean is the nut too high? Do I have to grind it in so the strings sit in it a little deeper?

Sry if I named something wrong, I'm not used to speaking about guitars in english.

Thanks a lot for any help :)

3. mercurysoto

mercurysoto Audiosexual

The bottom of the rabbit hole, next to Alice's