Getting Rid of Hum in Studio Monitors

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by monochrom3, Mar 12, 2015.

1. monochrom3

monochrom3 Ultrasonic

Hey guys,

So I just got my first pair of studio monitors - KRK Rokit RP6G3 to be more precise. As I'm a bedroom producer and I'm currently not earning any money with making music, I'm using one computer for everything - Netflix, PC Games, browsing the web and making music. So that means that the Rokits are now my main loudspeakers.

I hooked them up to my Scarlett 2i2 using 1/4" cables that were, according to the guy who sold them to me, supposed to be balanced, but after a closer look it turns out they're TS (not TRS) cables.

As soon as the speakers get any input from my audio interface, they start making these kinda annoying humming & buzzing sounds. It's not super loud but it drives me insane when I sit right next to the speakers for several hours.

I've had a look at troubleshooting this and according to the interwebs the hum is likely induced by something called a ground loop. It also says buying a DI Box / Hum Destroyer like this one is going to solve the problem, whereas other people say the buzzing sound are an indicator for electromagnetical interference and I should therefore switch over to TRS cables (which are balanced).

So in conclusion, there are 2 possible solutions here. My question is... which one should I try out first? I just spent 400$ on speakers and I feel like I could do well without investing another 60$ for new cables _and_ a Hum Destroyer.

Thanks in advance :)

3. fraifikmushi

fraifikmushi Guest

Try new cables, no need to spend 60$...

4. monochrom3

monochrom3 Ultrasonic

So you'd say that ground loop induced noise is likely to disappear when using a balanced connection?

5. fraifikmushi

fraifikmushi Guest

Galvanic isolation will break any ground loop and if your humming comes from a ground loop balancing will eliminate it.

6. SillySausage

SillySausage Producer