Geek programmer procrastination at its worst

Discussion in 'Lounge' started by Xupito, Nov 10, 2020.

1. Xupito

Xupito Audiosexual

So I'm a humble freelance web developer and as techie-geek-nerd as it gets. Recently I toy from time to time with VSTs using C++ and JUCE. Very different beasts than my work's tools and languages. Yesterday I had time to waste so my goal was:

Develop a dead simple but fast convolution plugin with JUCE

1. Convolution plugin. It's easy given the examples included in JUCE-> SUCCESS-> in 15 min

2. Fast. As many of you know the key is a fast FFT library. The JUCE included one is nice but slow (KissFFT). For some unknown reason I happen to have downloaded and installed Intel's IPP library which is the fastest on PC.

2.1 Fast convolution plugin with Intel's IPP. JUCE has integration for this library. Needs a bit of tweaking but not much-> SUCCESS in 30 min

At this point I could just benchmark and enjoy the two of them but... that's where the procrastination kicked in...

- PROCASTRINATION STRIKES: All well and good but Intel is evil and IPP library is commercial. Wouldn't be nice to use a free one? -> totally pointless for my goal, let alone I barely use legit soft at all :lmao:

In the next four to six hours...
    - Installed the fastest free FFT library, FFTW. Still relatively easy -> SUCCESS in 40 min

- PROCASTRINATION STRIKES AGAIN: Realized there're much newer versions of FFTW but not compiled (ready to use) for Windows->even I could tell I was asking for trouble lol
    - Tried to compile them with Visual Studio although FFTW is designed to be compiled in Linux -> FAIL: but complete success in getting in trouble :rofl:, about 50 min
    - Remembered I have a Linux server virtual machine installed for my work. No GUI at all, no C++ compilers installed-> FAIL: just too much trouble in 45 min