Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2nd gen cracks and pops

Discussion in 'PC' started by shake_puig, Nov 26, 2021.

  1. shake_puig

    shake_puig Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hello, I've been having this strange problem. Cracks and pops appear when using high buffer sizes and there are none when using lower sizes (it should be the opposite, right?), this doesn't happen when I'm using any DAW, only on desktop audio.

    I've tried their recommended tips, but still some crackling and pops appear from time to time and it's quite annoying. The only solution that works for me is to lower the size of the buffer but I need it to be at maximum to avoid tinkering back and forth once I'm in the DAW with large projects.

    Any fix that I may have missed? Thank you.

    I'm using Windows 10 Pro, v.20H2, OS build -19042.1348

    Focusrite Control 3.6.0.1822
     
  2.  
  3. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    3,250
    Can you tell me in numbers which sample rates you use, for example 44.1kHz / 256 samples or 44.1kHz / 512 samples.
    With which plugins or samples do the cracks occur? Wich DAW you use?

    Latency Moon ? www.resplendence.com/latencymon Please install and post the Pictures here.
    You can also call up the Task Manager to see whether the increased values are displayed.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2021

    Attached Files:

  4. BaSsDuDe

    BaSsDuDe Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2021
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    712
    I use a 18i20 3rd Gen and experienced the same thing so I looked on support forums and more.

    It seems to be different for everyone but it always seems to point to the same thing, the driver. There are several ways around it that I did and it seems to work, though honetly, you should not have to do this as the driiver should have sorted this. It is a workaround. Apparently the MAC version driver does not have this issue. So yeah, again, it points to the current Windows driver.
    There are a lot of complaints. Hopefully the next driver update will be better.

    OK the following were recommended so tick them off as done if you have done any of these already.
    1. Set your power plan to High performance with USB always on (advanced).
    2. In the Device manager In all extensible USB host controllers make sure all power management is set to off (i.e. Uncheck it)
    Do the same in the Root Hub
    upload_2021-11-26_23-56-2.png

    3. If problem still exists - Go to System - Advanced Sytem settings click it
    Then goto settings in Performance and change to preference given to background services.
    upload_2021-11-27_0-0-3.png

    4. Then completely uninstall the driver and reboot.

    5. Reinstall the driver after reboot and reboot once more.


    This seems to work. It's not you it's something strange in the driver.


    LAST
    In the advanced settings of sound, turn off
    "Let applications take exclusive control of this device"
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  5. BaSsDuDe

    BaSsDuDe Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2021
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    712
    As a side note
    The lower the buffer the better the realtime MIDI and audio recording latency.
    You generally only use large buffers for realtime exporting of large audio files or audio and video together to allow for CPU and disk caching or massive files, huge 4K videos or if you are a gamer which I am not.

    However if your setup is 192KHz default the latency should not be too much of problem with recording with larger buffers.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2021
  6. shake_puig

    shake_puig Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    41
    I have no issues with "44.1kHz / 256", but when I use "44.1kHz / 1024" the problems appear. These problems of cracks and pops appear only outside the DAW, just regular web browsing and media playing.

    I ran LatencyMon for half an hour but I'm not sure what values should I take a screenshot of.

    @BaSsDuDe, thanks for the reply. I actually had done those steps but still happening. You are right, these Focusrite drivers are bad, if nothing works I may be rolling back the drivers to see if that fixes it.
     
  7. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    3,250
    If it looks like that, everything is OK.
    [​IMG]

    Please leave your settings at 44.1kHz / 256.

    This is not surprising and completely normal. When you're making music and the DAW is open, everything else should be turned off.
     
  8. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    3,250
    Please leave it and always use the latest drivers available for your device.
     
  9. BaSsDuDe

    BaSsDuDe Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2021
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    712
    99.9% of the time I would totally agree with you without question. The amount of users who have experienced popping with the latest drivers is quite astounding.
    The drivers themselves are very comprehensive. If I was to take a guess, they originally wrote them on a MAC. I say this because this does not appear to happen with the latest drivers for MAC and it looks like when they ported it, they forgot to do some housekeeping.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  10. shake_puig

    shake_puig Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    41
    @BEAT16 OK, the LatencyMon test shows as you said it should (that green text) so that's good.
     
  11. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    3,250
  12. shake_puig

    shake_puig Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hey @BEAT16, I ran a new test today just to be sure and I got this. test lat.jpg
     
  13. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    3,250
    Hello shake_puig, thanks for the Picture.
    1.) The WLAN is not important for making music, you should only make music and not surf the Internet at the same time.
    2.) Power Management - Disable throttling Settings please follow the instructions:

    Deactivate CPU Power Saving Management in the BIOS

    In some cases it is recommended to deactivate the power saving settings of the CPU in the BIOS. [1] In this article we will show you where you can find the options and how you can deactivate them so that the power management options CPU P State Control and CPU C State Control are completely deactivated in the BIOS.

    Deactivate CPU power management
    1. Press the Delete key during the boot process to enter the BIOS
    2. Go to -> Advanced CPU Configuration -> Advanced Power Management Configuration
    3. Change Power Technology to Custom and Energy Efficient Turbo to Disable
    4. Switch to CPU P State Control , deactivate EIST (P-States) and Turbo Mode
    5. Then switch to CPU C State Control , change Package C State Limit to C0 / C1 state and deactivate CPU C3 Report , CPU C6 Report and Enhanced Halt State (C1E) .
     
  14. ampworks

    ampworks Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    England
    I had this issue before it was a plugin issue, i think it was a IR reverb that did it. does this happen with stock plugins ?
     
  15. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    3,250
    Which DAW do you use and which plugin? IR reverbs are sometimes CPU hogs.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2021
  16. ampworks

    ampworks Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    England
    DWA, you mean DAW? studio one. It wasnt that it was a hog, it was fine but now and again it would spike. Cheak your plugins it could be the case
     
  17. icebergfrancis

    icebergfrancis Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
  18. BEAT16

    BEAT16 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    3,250
  19. BaSsDuDe

    BaSsDuDe Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2021
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    712
    @BEAT16 what you are saying is useful, but just as a reminder, the OP is getting it primarily in desktop audio (see below).
    Some plugins can be a pain and have solutions, but I guarantee as an owner of one, the DAW is less troublesome (rarely if at all) than when a DAW is not open. The best fix so far ithat most people on Reddit, Soundgear, Talkbass and too many forums to list...is to ensure there is no audio exclusivity and that's not on the user in most cases, it keeps pointing to the way they have written the driver(s) and the buffer system. Truthfully, there does not seem to be a guaranteed fix for every user as yet. It is simply a little 'buggy'. :)
     
  20. ampworks

    ampworks Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    England
  21. clone

    clone Rock Star

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2021
    Messages:
    1,026
    Likes Received:
    420
    I have an 18i20 2nd gen I am not using. I think ~200us would be a fair price. if someone could use it, feel free to pm me. js
     
Loading...
Loading...