Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 vs Presonus AudioBox 1818VSL

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by NicoDPS, Dec 21, 2016.

1. NicoDPS

NicoDPS Platinum Record

3. rhythmatist

rhythmatist Audiosexual

I use the Presonus 1818. I use it in my home studio and I have used it live. It's also very nice for recording tracks that are not affected by your live mix. You can have a bunch of monitor mixes. There is no latency in the live mix. For the digital outputs and as an interface, 64 samples is the least, and that depends on how hard you push/load it, of course. I have nothing but good things to say about mine, and AudioBox comes with Studio One. I have no experience with Focusrite.

4. NicoDPS

NicoDPS Platinum Record

Thanks for your answer @rhythmatist, any other feedback about those interfaces?

5. rhythmatist

rhythmatist Audiosexual

My presonus in my flight case rack and some of my other rack mount gear. Add a video monitor, track ball and computer keyboard and it is a very flexible setup for live, recording, or both at the same time.

Last edited: Dec 27, 2016
  6. NicoDPS

NicoDPS Platinum Record

Nice Stuff!

7. phloopy

phloopy Audiosexual

I know the Presonus 1818 well and I can recomment it!
    I have no clues regarding the other one!

8. TW

TW Guest

I heared the presonus driver are not that well in terms of latency but maybe a owner/long time user of the 1818 can comment on that.

The Preamps of the 18i20 have defenetly more colour than the presonus preamps but less gain.
    In terms of converters they both sound well.

You have to keep in mind that the 18i20 preamps have only 50 db gain (if i am remembering correct) while presonus preamps have 65db (or even more? ). Which is a deal breaker if you use dynamic mics even with a phat head/cloudlifter. For example I was not able to power my sm7 with the focusrite to my satisfaction. Thats why i sold my focusrite.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 26, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1