Focusrite Scarlet 2i2

Discussion in 'Soundgear' started by lilryu, Aug 3, 2014.

1. lilryu

lilryu Newbie

I'm a newbie and was wondering if anyone had a solution for muffled/flat sound coming out from the Focusrite Scarlet 2i2 - I'm trying to use it with the PianoTeq and Truepiano VST. When I plug in a headphone it sounds clear, like all the frequency are there, but when I plug the Scarlet 2i2 to a PA system it sounds very muddy and flat. I'm using TRS cables. Thanks!

3. Pipotron3000

Pipotron3000 Audiosexual

I get the same card.
    No problem here, i use rear output on my monitors. It match headphone output.

Do you use rear outputs with BALANCED TRS cables ? Basically, stereo-like TRS cables (3 pins)
    May be there can be a trouble with unbalanced mono-like cables.

Try another source on the same PA input, with the same cables.
    May be cables are bad, and create impedance mismatch.

Power cables will NOT work as line cable. They are constructed to handle power on LOW impedance. They will ruin line signal.
    Check you use LINE level cables, too.

4. eksproducer

eksproducer Member

Anyone ever got a problem getting a condenser mic like the se200a II signal to work with the Scarlett 2i4?

5. dipje

dipje Ultrasonic

Started out on a Scarlett 2i2 here too. No problems (or settings that could affect it for that matter) with the output on the monitor-outs, even when using regular unbalanced cables. Sounds just as fine on the headphones.
    It can't be the software, since the headphones and the monitor-outs are on the same 'output 1&2' pair in software.

So either you have a faulty unit (rare and not likely) or there is something wrong in the cabling you're using to connect it to PA speakers. 'Muddy and fat' I'm thinking the PA speakers are passives? :P. Or, you have a huge impedance mismatch somewhere.