First track.. DnB - need advice/tips/help/etc

Discussion in 'Our Music' started by nickveldrin, May 16, 2016.

1. nickveldrin

nickveldrin Member

Hi all,

So, i put my first ever dnb track (and sort of first ever modern track) here -

I know it's not a full arrangement, but is it okay? I've only just started looking at theory books and watching lessons on how to use DAWs and come up with workflows to make tunes, so i'm new at pretty much everything.

This was composed in Ableton using an Akai Advance 49 controller, using a bunch of AiR Music Tech VSTi's (Mini Grand, Vacuum Pro, theRiser, Strike, and Velvet), some standalone samples, along with effects/mastering plugins from AiR, FabFilter, and iZotope Ozone.

Any advice or constructive criticism would be great - i'll take anything. Tips of the trade would be *super* helpful, as making music is really new to me, but i love drum and bass more than anything.

3. SyNtH.

SyNtH. Platinum Record

panning is overly done on drum hits, limiter being pushed to hard on the bass. Shorten the release on your drum hits. I would recommend watching the tutorial black sun empire have on their drum production. Try using a cleaner sub (more pure sine wave), the distortion on the low end makes it too rumbly in a bad way imo. But great first attempt!

4. nickveldrin

nickveldrin Member

Thank you so much, SyNtH.!

I'll make some edits, cuting the low end on my distorted sub instrument, cleaning up my sub instrument, and fixing the panning on the drums. But i borrowed the drum loops from Strike, so i'm not sure how much i could do with that without making my own, and i dont know if i'm experienced enough to make my own yet.

I really appreciate the advice.

*edit* will definitely watch the tutorial videos as well. Thank you for that too.

5. artwerkski

artwerkski Audiosexual

Nice track. Could use a wee bit more variation on drums and fills but overall nicely done.

6. jayxflash

jayxflash Guest