Fabfilter website opened all of a sudden saying I have a pirated copy

Discussion in 'Software' started by JarneMusic, Jun 1, 2019.

  1. JarneMusic

    JarneMusic Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was working at a new project when all of a sudden a new chrome tab opened saying "your copy of fabfilter is infected of pirated. Please delete it" I have a legit copy of Cubase 10 but a pirated one of fabfilter. I deleted fabfilter and am now really scared to install it again. Someone know what I did wrong or is this new
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. Paul Pi

    Paul Pi Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    London
    Never heard of that before. Assuming you're on windows, which version? Which cracked fabfilter release did you install?
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  4. JarneMusic

    JarneMusic Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Windows 10, Cubase Pro 10 and a cracked fabfilter release from R2R I guess
     
  5. Paul Pi

    Paul Pi Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    London
    "i guess"?? - What, do don't know?!? Didn't you install it yourself?

    Do please precisely detail:
    1. Where you got this cracked plugin from.
    2. Which fabfilter plugin you were using (including the version & crack crew).

    Without the above specifics, nobody's gonna be able to give you a meaningful answer.
     
    • Useful Useful x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  6. JarneMusic

    JarneMusic Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    I got it from audiotorrenz.org and to plugin was fabfilter pro q 3
     
  7. Amydarkfang

    Amydarkfang Noisemaker

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2017
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    6
    People should just buy fl studio it has all ya need
     
    • Funny Funny x 6
    • Dislike Dislike x 5
    • Disagree Disagree x 2
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  8. mono

    mono Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    608
    Location:
    Floating Amongst the Stars
    @JarneMusic

    Is nothing to worry about ,
    it just meens that eader the copy you have in not patched right
    or like you said you where online when using it whats never a good thing with any pirated sofware :rofl:
    even if its patched wrong and your offline the web tab still pops open.

    The best thing to do is look for a copy that says R2R on it
    and stay offline while makeing music.
     
  9. Paul Pi

    Paul Pi Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    London
    (un)Surprisingly, that site no longer exists... it would appear you picked up more than just software when you visited there.

    Run a malwarebytes scan on your system & clean out whatever malware has been injected into your OS. Once your rig is clean once more, go to the sister site and grab the latest R2R release from there and get back to doing your tunes!
     
    • Agree Agree x 5
    • Like Like x 2
    • Disagree Disagree x 2
    • List
  10. Paul Pi

    Paul Pi Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    London
    Just 'cos it says R2R on the wrapper doesn't at all mean that the installer hasn't been modified to include malware... So, unless you get it from a reliable source (e.g. the sister site), you're just asking for trouble...
     
    • Agree Agree x 6
    • Like Like x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
  11. Paul Pi

    Paul Pi Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2016
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    170
    Location:
    London
    I doubt that very much. I have very strange needs... :unsure:
     
    • Funny Funny x 4
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  12. scrappy

    scrappy Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    129
    Location:
    bowels of the skullery at the court of king boris
    just like sleeping, computer music creation should be an offline activity.
    :guru:
     
    • Agree Agree x 7
    • Like Like x 4
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  13. ohp_sefferoth

    ohp_sefferoth Newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    I used to go offline all the time while making music but I havent in like a year and not once have I had a problem. Its best to get your cracked stuff from a reliable source
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 2
    • Funny Funny x 1
    • List
  14. recycle

    recycle Rock Star

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    328
    Location:
    motherboard
    you just need a firewall that allows or deny apps going on line in the background. I'm on mac and I use little snitch, anyone using win here will be happy to give you an advice
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  15. suefreeman

    suefreeman Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Montreal
    Firewall - i use zonealarm free (dont touch the one with antivirus + uninstall ZAAR.exe ) and set it at hi level -- always ask --
    its a pain when you install a lot of software but in the end , it pays off .
    Any software trying to connect to internet will ask permission. ( like UAC but for network/internet)
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  16. evolasme

    evolasme Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    57
    my win10 machine does only music and offline, i let my mac do all the interwebs stuff and pc is on my network but no internet access (blocked at the router) the less crap going on in the background the better.
     
  17. OBKenobi

    OBKenobi Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    55
    Don't use Chrome if you pirate.

    [​IMG]
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  18. Moonlight

    Moonlight Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    455
    Location:
    Earth
    paste the link here
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  19. tzzsmk

    tzzsmk Rock Star

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2016
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Heart of Europe
    because you do :rofl:
    latest Q3 and L2 aren't K'ed properly apparently
     
  20. Moonlight

    Moonlight Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,539
    Likes Received:
    455
    Location:
    Earth
    this only searches if you press find or does it continously scan ?
     
  21. Ankit

    Ankit Rock Star

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    313
    EQ in not great in FL. Workflow is said to be fastest but most confusing one for me. Ableton Live, Bitwig Studio, Studio One have much better effects and cleaner workflow IMHO.
     
    • Agree Agree x 7
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Fabfilter website opened Forum Date
Legit and Cracked FabFilter Plugins Software Nov 28, 2019
Fabfilter timebombed - and unregistered other plugins Software Jul 10, 2019
Fabfilter Pro-Q 3 sidechain Studio One May 27, 2019
Fabfilter Reverb - Pro R - Experience?!? Software Feb 20, 2019
Fabfilter cracked on legit Pro Tools Pro Tools Dec 19, 2018
Loading...