Fabfilter plugins v2016.02.02 calling home

Discussion in 'Software' started by offset, Feb 21, 2016.

  1. offset

    offset Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!
    Today i was using ProQ-2 and suddenly this plugin stopped working, i can only hear white noise coming out of my DAW (Logic pro X). Google chrome prompted up with the fabfilter web page on it saying that my plugin was pirated or virus infected.
    Has someone else experienced this with the last update?
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  2.  
  3. sunn

    sunn Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see you are on mac. I've had similar problems (win here)
     
  4. stevitch

    stevitch Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    584
    Location:
    Here
  5. offset

    offset Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. quadcore64

    quadcore64 Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    819
    Do you have the plugins blocked by a firewall?

    You have to add all of the plugins installed (VST3,AAX,DLL,AU)
     
  7. bigboobs

    bigboobs Kapellmeister

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    55
    I blacklisted my daw .exe('s) with windows firewall, and no plugin is able to call home. that easy, without any 3rd party software (well, I'm using Windows Firewall Control, just a helpful GUI for the internal win firewall: http://www.binisoft.org/wfc.php )
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  8. offset

    offset Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your help guys! I`ve never had a problem like this before, I`m on mac. I really don`t know if there`s an internal method (i mean without using 3rd party software) to prevent apps or whatever from connecting to internet. I think the easiest way will be to work offline.
     
  9. SineWave

    SineWave Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,836
    Likes Received:
    2,936
    Location:
    Where the sun doesn't shine.
    Indeed, either plug the cable out or disable the network while you're making music.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
  10. Kookaboo

    Kookaboo Rock Star

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    428
    Location:
    Here and there.
    Fabfilter plugins v2016.02.02 calling home

    Man that is known since years! :unsure:
    Since crack teams release Keygen-stuff genuine cracks aren't offered anymore.

    That's a pity. The older cracked ones never called home (here).
     
  11. thantrax

    thantrax Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2,551
    Likes Received:
    2,649
    Location:
    Italy
    You have been
    [​IMG]
    :rofl:
     
    • Funny Funny x 5
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Creative Creative x 1
    • List
  12. statik

    statik Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    1,345
    Likes Received:
    579
    Location:
    under your bed
    they prolly missed their family and just wanted to talk a bit, it would be cruel to not let them do this.
     
    • Funny Funny x 4
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • List
  13. Nimbuss

    Nimbuss Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Africa
    This has always worked for me:

    - Turn internet off while installing plugins
    - Turn off internet when loading up DAW/making music

    I'm not a programmer or IT guy but I'm pretty sure software can't call home if you're offline (feel free to tell me if i'm wrong, I want to be as safe as you).
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • List
  14. Guitarmaniac64

    Guitarmaniac64 Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    227
    Let this be a lesson dont ever think you are safe using cracked plugins you see more and more developer is using more advanced protection so never be online or even better buy a cheap computer to use as internet computer and have the studio machine always offline as i have..
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  15. noise.maker

    noise.maker Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2015
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    133
    Good to know this. Ill go to unninstall them quickly and ban my temptation to use Fab again. Only used de-esser. Theres a lot of other good stuff to choose from. Im not a GUI fan; only good sound coming from diferent plugins. Thanks for advice. :bow:
     
  16. Rohan

    Rohan Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    India
    all fabfilter plugins work fine for me. Windows 10 x64, Fl Studio x32.
    Note: My daw (not plugin) is blocked from accessing internet.
     
  17. mono

    mono Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    1,064
    Likes Received:
    620
    Location:
    Floating Amongst the Stars
  18. MozartEstLa

    MozartEstLa Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    France
    Serum (.dll) do homecalls after license reset (occur everytime after you save preset then reload plugin instance) - it uses your current browser (not blocked) - either your DAW is blocked or not! (it's a sort of bypass). Using BiniSoft's WFC too, Win7. The best way is to disable your internet access (by using WFC : Profiles > High filtering) or sometimes called "Aircraft mode" (or similar) from other firewall softwares.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016
  19. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    981
    Location:
    Share many
    Working without the whole network connection often is not practicable.
    So I've installed two NICs in my workstation. 1st is the one, wich has connection to the internet, 2nd has not (no standard gateway) .
    If I want to work without internet I simply disable the NIC I called EXTERNAL and leave INTERNAL as is (by batch). So I can use my internal network for files etc.
    To further simplyfy that, one can load the programs with a batch and disable EXTERNAL automatically and re-enabling ist, when I'm done with the same batch.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • List
  20. MozartEstLa

    MozartEstLa Platinum Record

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    France
    Some plugs (like Waves) require at least one MAC address (applicable to R2R versions too).
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Interesting Interesting x 1
    • List
  21. twoheart

    twoheart Audiosexual

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    981
    Location:
    Share many
    @MozartEstLa
    Your're right. When one uses two NICs at the time of installation of a plugin, the EXTERNA NIC should be disabled, so that the installer grabs the NIC, that is enabled all the time, in my case it's INTERNAL.

    Another way: There are programs generating virtual NICs so that I van give them a MAC address I like.
    For me, "virtual box" worked best. I've installed it anayway, and I can define as much virtual NICs as I like. In the past I#ve found no program that could distinguish these virtual NICs from real ones.
     
    • Interesting Interesting x 2
    • Useful Useful x 1
    • List
Loading...
Similar Threads - Fabfilter plugins v2016 Forum Date
Fabfilter Volcano 3 vs UVI Shade - Compare EQ and Filter Plugins Software Reviews and Tutorials Jan 21, 2022
Plugins Alliances by R2R & Fabfilter Total Bundle don't work in Pro tools Software Feb 13, 2021
Legit and Cracked FabFilter Plugins Software Nov 28, 2019
Fabfilter timebombed - and unregistered other plugins Software Jul 10, 2019
Legit FabFilter plugins with cracked ones? Software Dec 1, 2018
Loading...