Exporting stems for a mix

Discussion in 'Studio' started by lipso, Feb 22, 2015.

1. lipso

lipso Newbie

Hi, im a producer and im working with a artist on their E.P . The project is very nearly finished and i am planning to send the tracks off to be mixed next week.

ive got a few questions regarding stems, and i hope you guys can give me a bit of clarity.

I know the usual process would be to export stems relatively unprocessed and leave it up to the mix engineer to apply fx and processing, but the fx and processing are part of the sound in this case. for example, pitched down distorted ambient background vocals...

- so my first question is, what level of processing is acceptable to leave on the stems? what should i definitely NOT leave on? My A&R suggested i just export all my stems wet, as they are now. are there times when its acceptable to send all the stems processed, or does that make the mix engineers job impossible?

- second question, all my drum sounds that make up the beat are always on individual channels on the mixer, should i export each sound as separate stems or do you think that will annoy the mix engineer?should i leave compression on my kicks, reverbs on my snares?

-i have applied high pass filters and other processing on certain sounds out of habit, done some things that would usually be done in the mix, its just the way I've always worked. but now if i take off all the eq ect that I've done, the master fader may start clipping... so should i, export the stems with my eq? take Eq off and turn down the faders until its not clipping? or export the stems without eq but not worry about the master output at all as the mix engineer can adjust it?

Ive never sent my tracks to someone else to be mixed, so i have no idea where to start. it feels like a overwhelming job and any tips you guys have would be appreciated

3. LunaX

LunaX Member

this topic interests me too..someone who has the experience please elaborate.. :excl:

4. rickbarratt